EGU21-7608
https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu21-7608
EGU General Assembly 2021
© Author(s) 2021. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

En-ROADS: A Global Energy and Climate Simulator to Support Strategic Thinking and Public Outreach

Florian Kapmeier1, John Sterman2, Lori Siegel3, Sibel Eker4, Tom Fiddaman5, Jack Homer6, Juliette Rooney-Varga7, and Andrew Jones8
Florian Kapmeier et al.
  • 1Reutlingen University, ESB Business School, Reutlingen, Germany (florian.kapmeier@reutlingen-university.de)
  • 2Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management, Cambridge, MA,USA (jsterman@mit.edu)
  • 3Climate Interactive, Washington DC, USA (lsiegel@climateinteractive.org)
  • 4Climate Interactive, Washington DC, USA (seker@climateinteractive.org)
  • 5Ventana Systems, Bozeman, Montana, USA (tom@ventanasystems.com)
  • 6Homer Consulting, Barrytown, New York, USA (jhomer609@gmail.com)
  • 7Climate Change Initiative, University of Massachusetts, Lowell, Massachusetts, USA (Juliette_rooneyvarga@uml.edu)
  • 8Climate Interactive, Washington DC, USA (apjones@climateinteractive.org)

Integrated assessment models (IAMs) have advanced scientific understanding of mitigation pathways, yet most are not directly accessible to policymakers and other leaders. Here we describe En-ROADS, a publicly available, fully documented online policy simulation model designed to complement IAMs in public outreach. En-ROADS represents the energy-economy-climate system at a globally aggregated level. It has been carefully grounded in the best available science and is calibrated to fit historical data and projections from multiple IAMs across all SSP scenarios. Through an intuitive interface, users choose assumptions, policies, and actions to mitigate GHG emissions, receiving immediate feedback on likely energy, emissions, and climate pathways through 2100, enabling users to explore policies and uncertainties for themselves.

 

 

How to cite: Kapmeier, F., Sterman, J., Siegel, L., Eker, S., Fiddaman, T., Homer, J., Rooney-Varga, J., and Jones, A.: En-ROADS: A Global Energy and Climate Simulator to Support Strategic Thinking and Public Outreach, EGU General Assembly 2021, online, 19–30 Apr 2021, EGU21-7608, https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu21-7608, 2021.

Display materials

Display file

Comments on the display material

to access the discussion