Science for Policy Meet and Greet


Science for Policy Meet and Greet
Convener: Chloe Hill
Mon, 26 Apr, 16:00–17:00 (CEST)
Public information:
This networking event will introduce you to science-policy professionals and scientists with experience engaging with policy. After a short introduction, attendees will be split into small breakout rooms with the ‘science for policy experts’ to hear their personal experiences and get advice about how best to engage at the science-policy interface.

Each group will be capped at 8 people and the entire session will be capped at 100. Please join the session promptly to ensure your place during this virtual session!

Breakout room leaders:
- Helen Sitar: Science Policy Officer, EMBO
- Aaron McKinnon: Communication Agent at the European Commission’s Joint Research Centre
- Matthias Girod: EuroScience Secretary-General
- Ilias Grampas: EU Affairs Manager for the Secretariat of the European Parliament Intergroup on ‘Climate Change, Biodiversity and Sustainable Development’
- Noel Baker: Project Manager, Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy, Former European Commission Blue Book Trainee, EGU Policy Competition Winner 2018
- Lexi Schultz: Vice President of Public Affairs, American Geophysical Union
- Michael Villafranca: Senior Specialist of Public Affairs, American Geophysical Union
- Ned Staniland: EGU 2020 Policy Intern, PhD candidate in the Space and Atmospheric Physics Group
- Florence Bullough, Head of Policy and Engagement, The Geological Society of London
- Solmaz Mohadjer: Assistant [and visiting] Professor, EGU science-policy pairing scheme participant 2019, Founder of ParsQuake Project
- Winfried Hoke: Executive Secretary at European Climate Research Alliance
- Adriana Bankston: Incoming Chief Executive Officer & Managing Publisher, Journal of Science Policy and Governance


  • Matthias Girod
  • Helen Sitar, EMBO, Germany
  • Aaron McKinnon, United States of America
  • Ilias Grampas, European Bureau for Conservation & Development, Belgium
  • Noel Baker, Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy, Belgium
  • Ned Staniland
  • Winfried Hoke, European Climate Research Alliance (ECRA), Belgium
  • Florence Bullough
  • Lexi Schultz
  • Michael Villafranca, American Geophysical Union (AGU), United States of America