Plinius Conference Abstracts
Vol. 17, Plinius17-21, 2022, updated on 07 Jul 2022
https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-plinius17-21
17th Plinius Conference on Mediterranean Risks
© Author(s) 2022. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

I-CHANGE (Individual Change of HAbits Needed for Green European transition) project

Antonio Parodi1, Silvana Di Sabatino2, Francesca Munerol1, Erika Brattich2, Pinhas Alpert3, Paolo Mazzetti4, Francesco Pilla5, Maria Carmen Llasat6, Gert-Jan Steeneveld7, Muhammad Adnan8, Fredrik Wetterhall9, Katriina Soini10, Eskil Welan11, Katja Firus12, Milan Kalas13, Carlo Trozzi14, Ephraim Broschkowski15, and Seyni Salack16
Antonio Parodi et al.
  • 1CIMA Research Foundation, Savona, Italy (antonio.parodi@cimafoundation.org)
  • 2University of Bologna, Bologna, Italy (silvana.disabatino@unibo.it)
  • 3Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel (pinhas@tauex.tau.ac.il)
  • 4National Research Council of Italy, Florence, Italy (paolo.mazzetti@cnr.it)
  • 5University College Dublin, Dublin, Ireland (francesco.pilla@ucd.ie)
  • 6University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain (carmell@meteo.ub.edu)
  • 7Wageningen University, Wageningen, Netherlands (gert-jan.steeneveld@wur.nl)
  • 8Universiteit Hasselt, Hasselt, Belgium (muhammad.adnan@uhasselt.be)
  • 9European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts, Reading, United Kingdom, (Fredrik.Wetterhall@ecmwf.int)
  • 10LUKE, Helsinki, Finland (katriina.soini@luke.fi)
  • 11DBT, Hvidovre, Denmark (ewe@tekno.dk)
  • 12DEN, Bruxelles, Belgium (k.firus@den-institute.org)
  • 13Kajo Services, Bytča, Slovakia (milan.kalas@kajoservices.com)
  • 14TECHCO, Roma, Italy (carlo.trozzi@techne-consulting.com)
  • 15Climate Media Factory, Potsdam, Germany (broschkowski@climatemedia.de)
  • 16WASCAL, Accra, Ghana (salack.s@wascal.org)

Climate change phenomena represent the most serious threats to human well-being and sustainable development. This affects several dimensions of human life from individual health issues to economic growth, passing through civil protection, with strong impacts on European territories and in several other world regions. The I-CHANGE (Individual Change of HAbits Needed for Green European transition, 2021-2025) project faces the challenge of engaging and promoting the active participation of citizens for addressing climate change, sustainable development and environmental protection in the framework of the European Green Deal , the European Climate Pact and the European Biodiversity Strategy for 2030. The overall driving concept is that citizens and civil society have a central role in the definition of environmental protection and climate action and their direct involvement is essential to drive a true shift and promotion of changes of behaviors towards more sustainable patterns. I-CHANGE represents a change of paradigm achievable through a multi-disciplinary and participatory approach: improvement of data usability - citizen awareness raises through the observation of the environmental impacts of human activities; active participation of citizens - the active involvement of citizens through a set of Living Labs (LLs) located in different socio-economic contexts (Europe, Middle-East and Africa); climate change awareness - the development of clear understanding for citizens of the scientific processes underlying climate change and environmental protections. First year of I-CHANGE activities will be presented and discussed.

How to cite: Parodi, A., Di Sabatino, S., Munerol, F., Brattich, E., Alpert, P., Mazzetti, P., Pilla, F., Llasat, M. C., Steeneveld, G.-J., Adnan, M., Wetterhall, F., Soini, K., Welan, E., Firus, K., Kalas, M., Trozzi, C., Broschkowski, E., and Salack, S.: I-CHANGE (Individual Change of HAbits Needed for Green European transition) project, 17th Plinius Conference on Mediterranean Risks, Frascati, Rome, Italy, 12–15 Oct 2021, Plinius17-21, https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-plinius17-21, 2021.