Side Events
Disciplinary Sessions
Inter- and Transdisciplinary Sessions

Session programme


SEV – Side events

Programme group chair: Susanne Buiter

LRS – Lectures organized by related scientific societies


Since 2006, the German Geophysical Society (DGG) promotes the C.F. Gauss Lecture within the frame of the General Assembly of the European Geosciences Union (EGU). Selected authors give an in-depth overview on a specific field of geophysics. The C.F. Gauss Lecture will be accompanied by a reception for members and friends of the DGG before it starts. All delegates of the EGU2019 are invited to participate.

Convener: Kasper David Fischer | Co-convener: Heidrun Kopp
| Wed, 10 Apr, 19:00–20:00
Room F2

Public information:
The German Society for Marine Research (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Meeresforschung, DGM) awards the Georg Wüst Prize every two years to a person who has made a significant contribution to ocean research.
The prize is kindly supported by the Springer journal Ocean Dynamics.

Co-organized as OS
Convener: Jörg-Olaf Wolff | Co-conveners: Dieter Hanelt, Frank Schweikert
| Wed, 10 Apr, 19:00–20:00
Room N2

This lecture has been presented each year since 1981 and is one of the principal events in the British Geophysical Association calendar. The Bullerwell lecture, named after the first Chief Geophysicist of the British Geological Survey, is a prestigious event that has been given by many of those UK geophysicists (see below) who are major international Earth Scientists, receiving honours from a wide range of learned societies, academic and governmental institutions. This years recipient is Dr. Sanne Cottaar of Cambridge University. Dr Sanne Cottaar studies the structure, composition, and dynamics of the deep Earth, and their relationship to surface processes and planet history. Her approach is both data-driven, hunting for clues constraining the deep Earth; and forward-modelling, predicting the possibilities and limitations of seismic data based on recent results in mineral physics and geodynamics. She holds a PhD from the University of California, Berkeley, and an MSc from the University of Utrecht.

Convener: Nicholas Harmon
| Thu, 11 Apr, 19:00–20:00
Room F2

The Copernicus Medal 2019 will be awarded to Fumio Inagaki for ingenious, pioneering work on the geomicrobiology of ocean floor bacteria, and international leadership in the collaborative study of subsurface seafloor habitats, especially through engagement in scientific ocean drilling projects and the support of the academic exchange of young scientists.

The medal lecture is entitled "Illuminating planetary habitability with scientific ocean drilling – perspectives on the geosphere-biosphere interaction."

Further information about the Copernicus Medal can be found at: https://www.copernicus-gesellschaft.org/medal.html

Convener: Hermann Lühr | Co-convener: Kristian Schlegel
Thu, 11 Apr, 19:00–20:30
Room E2