EGU2020-16484
https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu2020-16484
EGU General Assembly 2020
© Author(s) 2020. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Processing steps for the compiling AAGRG gravity maps

Pavol Zahorec1, Juraj Papčo2, Roman Pašteka3, and the AlpArray Gravity Research Group*
Pavol Zahorec et al.
  • 1Earth Science Institute, Slovak Academy of Sciences, Banská Bystrica, Slovak Republic (zahorec@savbb.sk)
  • 2Department of Theoretical Geodesy, Faculty of Civil Engineering, Slovak University of Technology, Bratislava, Slovak Republic (juraj.papco@stuba.sk)
  • 3Department of Applied and Environmental Geophysics, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Comenius University, Bratislava, Slovak Republic (roman.pasteka@uniba.sk)
  • *A full list of authors appears at the end of the abstract

First unified complete Bouguer anomaly map of AlpArray area compiled from terrestrial gravity data is in preparation. The following steps to calculate the first version of the map were performed: 1. unification of different spatial, height and gravity systems, 2. getting available detailed (mainly LiDAR-based) elevation models and their transformation from physical to ellipsoidal heights, 3. calculation of mass corrections (gravity effect of the topography between the surface and ellipsoid level) with density 2 670 kg/m3, 4. calculation of bathymetric corrections for water masses below the ellipsoid (correction density -1 640 kg/m3), 5. calculation of lake correction for great alpine lakes (correction density -1 670 kg/m3), 6. calculation of the final complete Bouguer anomalies based on normal field (Somigliana formula with GRS80 parameters, free-air correction using Taylor series expansion to the 2nd order) and particular corrections including also the atmospheric correction.

The quality control of input data was performed based on the height differences between the point data and particular elevation models. Several thousand points with height residuals higher than chosen threshold (±50 m) were excluded. The available detailed local elevation models (resolution 10 – 20 m) were compared with global model MERIT (resolution 25 m).

The most significant methodological innovation is the ellipsoidal heights concept using straightforward calculation of mass/bathymetric corrections in respect to the ellipsoid instead of using the geophysical indirect effect computation. Our specially developed program Toposk was used for mass/bathymetric correction calculation (the standard distance of 166.7 km was used for the first version of the map) as well as for the calculation of lake corrections. Mass corrections amount to hundreds of mGal, while the lake corrections reach more than 5 mGal locally. Atmospheric effect taking into account topography was also calculated and compared with standard atmospheric correction.

 

AlpArray Gravity Research Group:

Miroslav Bielik, bielik@fns.uniba.sk; Sylvian Bonvalot, sylvian.bonvalot@ird.fr; Carla Braitenberg, berg@units.it; Jörg Ebbing, joerg.ebbing@ifg.uni-kiel.de; Gerald Gabriel, gerald.gabriel@liag-hannover.de; Andrej Gosar, andrej.gosar@gov.si; Hans-Jürgen Götze, hajo.goetze@ifg.uni-kiel.de; György Hetényi, georgy.hetenyi@unil.ch; Nils Holzrichter, nils.holzrichter@ifg.uni-kiel.de; Edi Kissling, kissling@tomo.ig.erdw.ethz.ch; Urs Marti, urs.marti@swisstopo.ch; Bruno Meurers, bruno.meurers@univie.ac.at; Jan Mrlina, jan@ig.cas.cz; Pavel Novak, panovak@kma.zcu.cz; Matteo Scarponi, matteo.scarponi@unil.ch; Josef Sebera, josef.sebera@asu.caz.cz; Peter Skiba, peter.skiba@leibniz-liag.de; Eszter Szücz, szucz_e@ggki.hu; Matej Varga, mvarga@geof.hr;

How to cite: Zahorec, P., Papčo, J., and Pašteka, R. and the AlpArray Gravity Research Group: Processing steps for the compiling AAGRG gravity maps, EGU General Assembly 2020, Online, 4–8 May 2020, EGU2020-16484, https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu2020-16484, 2020

Comments on the presentation

AC: Author Comment | CC: Community Comment | Report abuse

Presentation version 1 – uploaded on 29 Apr 2020 , no comments