EGU21-1675
https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu21-1675
EGU General Assembly 2021
© Author(s) 2021. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Reconsidering the Variscan basement of southern Tuscany (inner Northern Apennines)

Enrico Capezzuoli1, Amalia Spina2, Andrea Brogi3,4, Domenico Liotta3,4, Gabriella Bagnoli5, Martina Zucchi3, Giancarlo Molli5, and Renzo Regoli6
Enrico Capezzuoli et al.
  • 1Università di Firenze, Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, Firenze, Italy (enrico.capezzuoli@unifi.it)
  • 2Dipartimento di Scienze fisiche e della Terra, Università di Perugia, Italy (amalia.spina@unipg.it)
  • 3Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra e Geoambientali, Università di Bari, Italy (andrea.brogi@uniba.it; domenico.liotta@uniba.it; martina.zucchi@uniba.it)
  • 4CNR-IGG, Pisa, Italy (andrea.brogi@uniba.it; domenico.liotta@uniba.it)
  • 5Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, Università di Pisa, Pisa, Italy (gabriella.bagnoli@unipi.it; giancarlo.molli@unipi.it)
  • 6Associazione Mineralogica Paleontologica Senese, Siena, Italy (renzoregoli@gmail.com)

The Pre-Mesozoic units exposed in the inner Northern Apennines mostly consist of middle-late Carboniferous-Permian successions unconformably deposited on a continental crust consolidated at the end of the Variscan (i.e. Hercynian) orogenic cycle (Silurian-Carboniferous). In the inner Northern Apennines, exposures of this continental crust, Cambrian?-early Carboniferous in age, have been described in the Northern Tuscany, Elba Island (Tuscan Archipelago) and, partly, in scattered and isolated outcrops of southern Tuscany. In this contribution, we reappraise the most significative succession (i.e. Risanguigno Formation) exposed in southern Tuscany and considered by most authors as part of the Variscan Basement. New stratigraphic and structural studies, coupled with palynological analyses, allow us to refine the age of the Risanguigno Fm and its geological setting and evolution. Based on the microfloristic content, the structural setting and the fieldwork study, we attribute this formation to late Tournaisian-Visean (middle Mississipian) time interval and conclude it is not showing evidence of a pre-Alpine deformation. These results, together with the already existing data, allow us to presume that no exposures of rocks involved in the Variscan orogenesis occur in southern Tuscany.

How to cite: Capezzuoli, E., Spina, A., Brogi, A., Liotta, D., Bagnoli, G., Zucchi, M., Molli, G., and Regoli, R.: Reconsidering the Variscan basement of southern Tuscany (inner Northern Apennines), EGU General Assembly 2021, online, 19–30 Apr 2021, EGU21-1675, https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu21-1675, 2021.

Corresponding presentation materials formerly uploaded have been withdrawn.