EGU22-6114
https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu22-6114
EGU General Assembly 2022
© Author(s) 2022. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Sounding rocket project PMWE for investigation of polar mesosphere winter echoes

Boris Strelnikov1, Tristan Staszak1, Philipp Seither1, Martin Friedrich2, Markus Rapp3,4, Joan Stude3,4, Ralph Latteck1, Toralf Renkwitz1, Stefan Löhle5, Igor Hörner5, Martin Eberhart5, Stefanos Fasoulas5, Jörg Gumbel6, Jonas Hedin6, Franz-Josef Lübken1, Gerd Baumgarten1, Jens Fiedler1, Irina Strelnikova1, Evgenia Belova7, Marcus Hörschgen-Eggers8, and the PMWE team*
Boris Strelnikov et al.
  • 1Leibniz Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Optical Soundings and Sounding Rockets, Kühlungsborn, Germany (strelnikov@iap-kborn.de)
  • 2Graz University of Technology (TUG), Graz, Austria
  • 3DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics (IPA), Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany
  • 4Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU), Munich, Germany
  • 5Institute of Space Systems (IRS), Stuttgart, Germany
  • 6Department of Meteorology at Stockholm University (MISU), Stockholm, Sweden
  • 7Swedish Institute of Space Physics (IRF), Kiruna, Sweden
  • 8Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, DLR MORABA, Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany
  • *A full list of authors appears at the end of the abstract

Polar mesosphere winter echoes (PMWE) are relatively strong radar returns which are regularly observed by mesosphere/stratosphere/troposphere (MST) radars at high latitudes in winter. A sounding rocket project PMWE aimed at investigation of this phenomenon by means of high resolution in situ measurements of all the relevant parameters inside and around the volume probed by the MAARSY radar. Two sounding rocket campaigns were conducted at the Andøya Space (AS, 69 °N, 16 °E) in April 2018 and October 2021, respectively. Two instrumented sounding rockets were launched during each rocket campaing. Both EISCAT in Tromsø and SAURA radar located near the launch site were running throughout the campaign periods. RMR-lidar successfully measured temperature and wind fields on the day of rocket launches in October 2021. In this paper we give an overview and some details of the measurements conducted during the two rocket campaigns and discuss first results.

PMWE team:

Boris Strelnikov <strelnikov@iap-kborn.de>, Tristan Staszak <staszak@iap-kborn.de>, Philipp Seither <seither@iap-kborn.de>, Martin Friedrich <martin.friedrich@tugraz.at>, Markus Rapp <Markus.Rapp@dlr.de>, Joan Stude <Joan.Stude@dlr.de>, Ralph Latteck <latteck@iap-kborn.de>, Toralf Renkwitz <renkwitz@iap-kborn.de>, Stefan Löhle <loehle@irs.uni-stuttgart.de>, Igor Hoerner <ihoerner@irs.uni-stuttgart.de>, Martin Eberhart <eberhart@irs.uni-stuttgart.de>, Stefanos Fasoulas <fasoulas@irs.uni-stuttgart.de>, Jörg Gumbel <gumbel@misu.su.se>, Jonas Hedin <jonash@misu.su.se>, Franz-Josef Lübken <luebken@iap-kborn.de>, Gerd Baumgarten <baumgarten@iap-kborn.de>, Jens Fiedler <fiedler@iap-kborn.de>, Irina Strelnikova <strelnikova@iap-kborn.de>, Evgenia Belova <belova@irf.se>, Marcus Hoerschgen-Eggers <Marcus.Hoerschgen-Eggers@dlr.de>, Markus Wittkamp <Markus.Wittkamp@dlr.de>, Johannes Göser <Johannes.Goeser@dlr.de>

How to cite: Strelnikov, B., Staszak, T., Seither, P., Friedrich, M., Rapp, M., Stude, J., Latteck, R., Renkwitz, T., Löhle, S., Hörner, I., Eberhart, M., Fasoulas, S., Gumbel, J., Hedin, J., Lübken, F.-J., Baumgarten, G., Fiedler, J., Strelnikova, I., Belova, E., and Hörschgen-Eggers, M. and the PMWE team: Sounding rocket project PMWE for investigation of polar mesosphere winter echoes, EGU General Assembly 2022, Vienna, Austria, 23–27 May 2022, EGU22-6114, https://doi.org/10.5194/egusphere-egu22-6114, 2022.

Comments on the display material

to access the discussion