EGU General Assembly 2023
© Author(s) 2023. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Morphology and evolution of foreshock structures in a high-Mach number hybrid-Vlasov simulation of Earth's magnetosphere

Markus Battarbee1, Martin Archer2, Heli Hietala3, Ferdinand Plaschke4, Minna Palmroth1,5, Lucile Turc1, and the the Vlasiator team*
Markus Battarbee et al.
  • 1University of Helsinki, University of Helsinki, Department of Physics, Helsinki, Finland (
  • 2Space and Atmospheric Physics, Department of Physics, Imperial College London, London, UK
  • 3Queen Mary University of London, London, UK
  • 4Technische Universität Braunschweig, Braunschweig, Germany
  • 5Finnish Meteorological Institute, Helsinki, Finland
  • *A full list of authors appears at the end of the abstract

Counter-streaming particles reflected from the Earth's bow shock towards the Sun build up the ion foreshock, exciting right-handed ultra-low frequency (ULF) waves, which convect with the solar wind back to the bow shock. As these waves move Earthward, they steepen and interact with each other, forming a complex wave field consisting of various foreshock structures. Observations of foreshock structures have classified them as, for example, ULF waves, shocklets, short large-amplitude magnetic structures (SLAMS), cavitons, and spontaneous hot flow anomalies (SHFAs). We present results from a high Mach number 2D-3V hybrid-Vlasov Vlasiator simulation of the Earth's bow shock and foreshock during quasi-radial IMF and place them in the context of spacecraft observations. We combine spatial analysis of bulk characteristics within the foreshock with virtual spacecraft observations to evaluate the morphology of foreshock structures as they form, and how they subsequently evolve as they approach the Earth's bow shock.

the Vlasiator team:

Markus Battarbee, Urs Ganse, Yann Pfau-Kempf, Lucile Turc, Evgenii Gordeev, Maarja Bussov, Giulia Cozzani, Maxime Grandin, Konstantinos Horaites, Fasil Tesema, Ivan Zaitsev, Hongyang Zhou, Markku Alho, Maxime Dubart, Konstantinos Papadakis, Jonas Suni, Vertti Tarvus, and Minna Palmroth

How to cite: Battarbee, M., Archer, M., Hietala, H., Plaschke, F., Palmroth, M., and Turc, L. and the the Vlasiator team: Morphology and evolution of foreshock structures in a high-Mach number hybrid-Vlasov simulation of Earth's magnetosphere, EGU General Assembly 2023, Vienna, Austria, 24–28 Apr 2023, EGU23-15282,, 2023.