EGU23-16530, updated on 12 Apr 2023
EGU General Assembly 2023
© Author(s) 2023. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

ASKOS Campaign 2021/2022: Overview of measurements and applications

Eleni Marinou1, Vassilis Amiridis1, Peristera Paschou1, Ioanna Tsikoudi1, Alexandra Tsekeri1, Vassiliki Daskalopoulou1, Holger Baars2, Athina Floutsi2, Dimitra Kouklaki3, Razvan Pirloaga4, Franco Marenco5, Maria Kazoudi5, Ewan O Connor6, Lukas Pfitzenmaier7, Cordula Zenk8, Claire Ryder9, Jonas Von Bismarck10, Thorsten Fehr11, and the ASKOS team*
Eleni Marinou et al.
  • 1National Observatory of Athens (NOA), Athens, Greece
  • 2Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS), Leipzig, Germany
  • 3University of Athens, Athens, Greece
  • 4National Institute of Research & Development for Optoelectronics (INOE), Magurele, Romania
  • 5The Cyprus Institute, Nicosia, Cyprus
  • 6Finnish Meteorological Institute, Helsinki, Finland.
  • 7University of Cologne, Cologne, Germany
  • 8GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany
  • 9University of Reading, Reading, UK
  • 10European Space Agency (ESA/ESRIN), Italy
  • 11European Space Agency (ESA/ESTEC), The Netherlands
  • *A full list of authors appears at the end of the abstract

In the framework of the Joint Aeolus Tropical Atlantic Campaign (JATAC), the ASKOS experiment was implemented in Cabo Verde during summer and autumn of 2021 and 2022. The main objective of ASKOS was the collection of an unprecedented dataset of synergistic measurements in the region, to be used to address a wide range of scientific objectives, namely the support of the validation of Aeolus mission’s products, the study of the processes affecting dessert dust transport (water vapor, giant particles, mixing with boundary layer dynamics), the characterization of the cloud microphysics, the effect of dust particles in the cloud formation over the region, the effect of the large dust particles on radiation and others.

During the ASKOS experiment, intense ground-based remote sensing and airborne in situ measurements took place on and above Mindelo on the island of São Vicente, Cabo Verde. At the Ocean Science Center in Mindelo (OSCM), a full ACTRIS remote sensing super site was set up in 2021, including a multiwavelength-Raman-polarization lidar PollyXT, an AERONET sun photometer, a Scanning Doppler wind lidar, a microwave radiometer and a cloud radar belonging to ESA fiducial reference network (FRM4Radar). Additionally, the ESA’s reference lidar system eVe, a combined linear/circular polarization lidar with Raman capabilities, was deployed. In 2022, the operations were enhanced with the deployment of airborne in-situ aerosol measurements on-board UAVs deployed by the Cyprus Institute, solar radiation measurements supported by PMOD/WRC, dust particle orientation measurements from the WALL-E lidar of National Observatory of Athens, and radiosonde releases equipped with additional electric field and electric charge measurements. The campaign was supported by dedicated numerical weather and dust simulations from CAMS and ECMWF, and tailored WRF simulations with nested domains above the campaign site.  

From the ASKOS dataset, three cases have been selected as "golden cases” where multiple JATAC airborne platforms and Aeolus satellite performed collocated measurements alongside with the ground-based instrumentation around the ASKOS operations site. Furthermore, multiple synergistic measurements with the JATAC airborne platforms were performed in the broader Cabo Verde region. Here, we quickly introduce ASKOS measurements and present first results. 

ASKOS team:

Eleni Marinou (1), Vassilis Amiridis (1), Peristera Paschou (1), Ioanna Tsikoudi (1), Alexandra Tsekeri (1), Vassiliki Daskalopoulou (1), Spyros Metallinos (1), Nikos Siomos (1), Vassilis Spanakis (1), Sotiris Mallios (1), Anna Kampouri (1), Eleni Drakaki (1), Thanasis Georgiou (1), Antonis Gkikas (1), Proestakis Emmanouil (1), Panos Rapris (1), Pavlos Kollias (1), Ioanna Mavropoulou (1), Stavroupa Papatheochari (1), Ηolger Baars (2), Athina Floutsi (2), Dimitri Trapon (2), Ronny Engelmann (2), Annett Scupin (2), Sofia Gómez Maqueo Anaya (2), Martin Radenz (2), Johannes Bühl (2), Julian Hofer (2), Patric Seifert (2), Birgit Heese (2), Dietrich Althausen (2), Ulla Wandinger (2), Stelios Kazadzis (3), Dimitra Kouklaki (4), Razvan Pirloaga (5), Anca Nemuc (5), Bogdan Antonescu (5) Doina Nicolae (5), Franco Marenco (6), Maria Kezoudi (6), Alkistis Papetta (6), Christos Keleshis (6), Jean Sciare (6), Ewan O’ Conor (7), Konrad Kandler (8), Lukas Pfitzenmaier (9), Cordula Zenk (10,11), Elizandro Rodrigues (11), Silva Eder (11), Pericles Silva (11), Ivanice Monteiro (11), Samira Moussa Idrissa (12), Daniel Tetteh Quaye (12), Desire Degbe Fiogbe Attannon (12), Corrine Almeida (12), Claire Ryder (13), Natalie Radcliffe (13), Jan-Berend Stuut (14), Sergio Rodrigues (15), Joseph Ulanowski (16), Josef Gasteiger (17), Volker Freudenthaler (18), Luke Jones (19), Angela Benedetti (19), Jonas Von Bismarck (20), and Thorsten Fehr (21). Affiliations: (1) IAASARS, National Observatory of Athens, Athens, Greece; (2) Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research, Leipzig, Germany; (3) Physics and Meteorology Observatorium of Davos, World Radiation Center (PMOD/WRC), Davos, Switzerland; (4) University of Athens, Athens, Greece; (5)National Institute of R&D for Optoelectronics, Bucharest, Romanian; (6) The Cyprus Institute, Nicosia, Cyprus; (7) Finnish Meteorological Institute, Helsinki, Finland; (8) Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany; (9) University of Cologne, Cologne, Germany; (10) GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany; (11) Ocean Science Centre Mindelo (OSCM), Mondelo, Cabo Verde; (12) Atlantic Technical University, Sao Vicente, Cabo Verde; (13) University of Reading, Reading, UK; (14) Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research, The Netherlands; (15) Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientı́ficas, Spain; (16) University of Hertfordshire, Hertfordshire, United Kingdom; (17) University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria; (18) Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Munich, Germany; (19) European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts, Reading, Great Britain; (20) European Space Agency (ESA/ESRIN), Italy; (21) European Space Agency (ESA/ESTEC), The Netherlands.

How to cite: Marinou, E., Amiridis, V., Paschou, P., Tsikoudi, I., Tsekeri, A., Daskalopoulou, V., Baars, H., Floutsi, A., Kouklaki, D., Pirloaga, R., Marenco, F., Kazoudi, M., O Connor, E., Pfitzenmaier, L., Zenk, C., Ryder, C., Von Bismarck, J., and Fehr, T. and the ASKOS team: ASKOS Campaign 2021/2022: Overview of measurements and applications, EGU General Assembly 2023, Vienna, Austria, 24–28 Apr 2023, EGU23-16530,, 2023.

Supplementary materials

Supplementary material file

Comments on the supplementary material

to access the discussion