EGU General Assembly 2023
© Author(s) 2023. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Providing unified data delivery statistics service from european seismological data centers

Jonathan Schaeffer1,2, Helle Pedersen1, and the EIDA staff*
Jonathan Schaeffer and Helle Pedersen and the EIDA staff
  • 1Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
  • 2Observatoire des Sciences de l'Univers de Grenoble
  • *A full list of authors appears at the end of the abstract

     Data delivery statistics is one of the classical key performance indicators for a large variety of usages : providing insight of data usage to founders, to seismological network managers, to data management centre operational teams.

EIDA is the European Integrated Data Infrastructure from the Orfeus project, federating 12 data management centres which distribute seismological data with the same standardized  methods, enabling users to seamlessly access data from seismological networks (more than 16000 stations) accross Europe.

Since the beginning of the project, various stakeholders have put interest in the data distribution statistics, but sharing the meaningfull indicators to build an unified view turned out to be very challenging. Nonetheless, since 2021, a complete unified statistics service is operational and provides meaningfull KPI over data distribution accross all EIDA nodes.

We will present the story of this project and the lessons learned from the different implementations, emphasising the identified caveats and the useful open source technologies which made the implementation possible.

EIDA staff:

* EIDA Management Board - Christos Evangelidis, NOA (Chair) - Helle Pedersen, RESIF - John Clinton, ETHZ - Angelo Strollo, GFZ - Klaus Stammler, BGR - Peter Danecek, INGV - Didem Cambaz, KOERI - Alexandru Marmureanu, NIEP - Reinoud Sleeman, ODC - KNMI - Lars Ottemüller, UIB-NORSAR * EIDA Technical Committee - Jarek Bienkowski, ODC - KNMI (Chair) - Javier Quinteros, Andres Heinloo, Peter Evans, GFZ - Matthias Hoffmann, Erich Odon Muhire, BGR - Daniel Armbruster, Stefan Heimers, Philippe Kaestli, Carlo Cauzzi, ETHZ - Massimo Fares, Valentino Lauciani, Matteo Quintiliani, INGV - Mehmet Ozer, KOERI - Cristian Neagoe, Lucian Palangeanu, NIEP - Jonathan Schaeffer, RESIF - Nikos Triantafyllis, Kostas Boukouras, NOA - Jan Michalek, UIB-NORSAR

How to cite: Schaeffer, J. and Pedersen, H. and the EIDA staff: Providing unified data delivery statistics service from european seismological data centers, EGU General Assembly 2023, Vienna, Austria, 24–28 Apr 2023, EGU23-5304,, 2023.