EGU23-7814, updated on 25 Feb 2023
EGU General Assembly 2023
© Author(s) 2023. This work is distributed under
the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

European Petrophysics Consortium's Contributions to IODP

Tim van Peer1, Andrew McIntyre1, Marisa Rydzy1, Erwan Le Ber2, and European Petrophysics Consortium Team Members1,2
Tim van Peer et al.
  • 1University of Leicester, School of Geography, Geology, and the Environment, United Kingdom (
  • 2Géosciences Montpellier, Université de Montpellier (UMR5243), CNRS, Montpellier, France

The European Petrophysics Consortium (EPC) is part of the ECORD Science Operator (ESO). EPC comprises the University of Leicester and Géosciences Montpellier and provides petrophysics staff scientists and petrophysicists, as well as expertise in downhole logging and core petrophysics programmes. The EPC has dedicated equipment for core logging and discrete measurements and is involved in data calibration, quality control, evaluation and interpretation of these data. The EPC is also involved in post-expedition activities, the preparation of upcoming expeditions, capability development, and training for IODP MSP expeditions and other key activities, including education and training.

Over the past pandemic years, EPC has been active within expeditions and the community. EPC recognizes the importance of scientific drilling to palaeoclimate studies amongst other key topics, which is also reflected in our new science and operations roadmap: i) hired new staff members with a paleoclimate background; ii) developed a system for knowledge exchange between petrophysics and climate scientists, for instance via the ECORD summer schools; iii) renewed focus to include the development of measurement protocols and data analysis techniques to better serve the IODP community.

EPC also has a website ( and will host the next ECORD Summer School Downhole Logging for IODP Science in person in Leicester in summer 2023.


*European Petrophysics Consortium Team Members:

Sarah Davies, Simon Draper, Tim van Peer, Andrew McIntyre, Marisa Rydzy (University of Leicester).

Philippe Pezard, Johanna Lofi, Erwan Le Ber, Laurent Brun (University of Montpellier).

How to cite: van Peer, T., McIntyre, A., Rydzy, M., Le Ber, E., and Team Members, E. P. C.: European Petrophysics Consortium's Contributions to IODP, EGU General Assembly 2023, Vienna, Austria, 24–28 Apr 2023, EGU23-7814,, 2023.