EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



Space missions, ground-based observations and theory allow for detailed characterization of planetary upper atmospheres in the solar system that provides novel insights into the physical mechanisms at play. At the same time, the detection of short-period extrasolar planets has inspired numerous studies of chemistry, dynamics, and escape of the upper atmospheres of these planets, at more extreme conditions than those found in the solar system. More than ever, it is critical to foster the communication between the communities working on the theoretical and observational aspects of both solar system and exoplanet upper atmospheres. This communication will secure a solid progress in the interpretation of new atmospheric observables and in the implications for e.g. planet demographics.

This session brings together researchers from the solar system and exoplanet communities in an attempt to exchange knowledge and ideas. We welcome papers on all aspects of planetary aeronomy i.e., the science of the upper atmosphere, either in the solar system or exoplanet systems. Suitable papers include results on photochemistry and ionization, magnetosphere-ionosphere coupling, energy balance and circulation, atmospheric escape and evolution as well as new observations and novel observational techniques.

Co-organized as TP18/OPS7
Convener: Antonio García Muñoz | Co-conveners: Tommi Koskinen, Panayotis Lavvas
| Mon, 16 Sep, 08:30–10:00
Uranus (Room 4)
| Attendance Tue, 17 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Mon, 16 Sep, 08:30–Wed, 18 Sep, 11:00|Level 2

Monday, 16 September 2019 | Uranus (Room 4)

Chairperson: Antonio García Muñoz
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited talk
Joseph Serigano, Sarah Horst, Roger Yelle, Tommi Koskinen, and Chao He
08:45–09:00 |
| solicited talk
Antoine Strugarek, Allan Sacha Brun, Jean François Donati, Claire Moutou, and Victor Réville
09:00–09:10 |
Jess Vriesema, Tommi Koskinen, Roger Yelle, and Ingo Müller-Wodarg
09:10–09:20 |
Peter Panka, Geronimo Villanueva, Alexander Kutepov, Artem Feofilov, and Diego Janches
09:20–09:30 |
Daria Kubyshkina, Patricio Cubillos, Luca Fossati, Nikolay Erkaev, Colin Johnstone, Kristina Kislyakova, Helmut Lammer, Monika Lendl, and Petra Odert
09:30–09:40 |
Licia Ray, Christopher Lorch, James O'Donoghue, Japheth Yates, Sarah Badman, Christopher Smith, and Thomas Stallard
09:40–09:50 |
Beatriz Sanchez - Cano, Mark Lester, Olivier Witasse, Pierre-Louis Blelly, Hermann Opgenoorth, Andrew Kopf, David D. Morgan, David Andrews, Francois Leblanc, and Jared R. Espley
09:50–10:00 |
Andrew Cleary, Andrew Allan, and Aline Vidotto