EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



The goal of this session is to bring together observers, modellers and experimentalists to discuss pathways to characterise the atmosphere, surface and interior of temperate, Earth-sized exoplanets and to prepare for future space missions, including ESA’s PLATO and NASA/ESA's JWST, and for extremely large ground-based telescopes such as the E-ELT, GMT and TMT.

More specifically, the following questions will be addressed:

- What are the most promising observational techniques to characterise temperate, Earth-sized planets with existing and future telescopes?
- What are the best targets available now and in a near-future?
- What are the most probable types of atmospheres around these planets? And what are the easiest types of atmospheres to detect and characterise?
- What lessons can be learned from the modelling and observation of Solar System objects and of warmer and/or more massive exoplanets?
- What experimental work do we need to improve our understanding of these worlds?

This session welcomes any abstract related to the characterisation of temperate, Earth-sized planets, at all stages of their evolution. Efforts to connect this characterisation with ongoing and forthcoming observations will be appreciated.

Convener: Martin Turbet | Co-conveners: Emeline Bolmont, Vincent Bourrier, Ramon Brasser, David Ehrenreich, Christophe Lovis, Stephen J. Mojzsis, Olivia Venot, Stephanie C. Werner
| Tue, 17 Sep, 08:30–12:00
Venus (Room 6), Wed, 18 Sep, 08:30–12:00
Uranus (Room 4)
| Attendance Tue, 17 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Mon, 16 Sep, 08:30–Wed, 18 Sep, 11:00|Level 2

Tuesday, 17 September 2019 | Venus (Room 6)

Chairperson: Martin Turbet and Stephen Mojzsis
08:30–08:45 |
Francois Bouchy, Christophe Lovis, Francesco Pepe, and Louise Nielsen
08:45–09:00 |
| solicited talk
Elsa Ducrot and Michael Gillon and the SPECULOOS team
09:15–09:30 |
Angelos Tsiaras
09:30–09:45 |
Edwin Kite, Eric Ford, Bruce Fegley, and Megan Barnett
09:45–10:00 |
Nathalie Carrasco and Jeremy Bourgalais
Coffee break
Chairperson: Emeline Bolmont and Olivia Venot
10:30–10:45 |
Xinting Yu, Sarah Hörst, Chao He, Patricia McGuiggan, and Xi Zhang
10:45–11:00 |
Mark Swain, Raissa Estrela, Christophe Sotin, Gael Roudier, and Robert Zellem
11:00–11:15 |
Tim Lichtenberg, Gregor Golabek, Remo Burn, Michael Meyer, Yann Alibert, Taras Gerya, and Christoph Mordasini
11:15–11:30 |
Robert Spaargaren, Maxim Ballmer, Stephen Mojzsis, Daniel Bower, Caroline Dorn, and Paul Tackley
11:30–11:45 |
Gabriel Tobie, Pierre Auclair-Desrotour, Emeline Bolmont, Caroline Dumoulin, Olivier Grasset, and Antoine Mocquet
11:45–12:00 |
Maxence Lefevre and Martin Turbet

Wednesday, 18 September 2019 | Uranus (Room 4)

Chairperson: Stephen Mojzsis and Stephanie Werner
08:30–08:45 |
Takanori Kodama, Hidenori Genda, Ryouta O’ishi, Ayako Abe-Ouchi, Yutaka Abe, and Jérémy Leconte
08:45–09:00 |
Frédéric Schmidt, François Landais, and Shaun Lovejoy
09:00–09:15 |
Marc Neveu, Ryan Felton, Shawn Domagal-Goldman, Giada Arney, and Steven Desch
09:15–09:30 |
Dennis Höning, Nicola Tosi, and Tilman Spohn
09:30–09:45 |
Fabian Wunderlich, Mareike Godolt, John Lee Grenfell, Steffen Städt, Alexis M.S. Smith, Stefanie Gebauer, Franz Schreier, Pascal Hedelt, and Heike Rauer
09:45–10:00 |
Thomas Fauchez, Martin Turbet, Geronimo Villanueva, Eric T. Wolf, Giada Arney, Ravi K. Kopparapu, Avi Mandell, Julien de Wit, Daria Pidhorodetska, and Shawn D. Domagal-Goldman
Coffee break
Chairperson: David Ehrenreich and Martin Turbet
10:30–10:45 |
Daria Pidhorodetska, Thomas Fauchez, Geronimo Villanueva, and Shawn Domagal-Goldman
10:45–11:00 |
Gabriella Gilli, Martin Turbet, Jeremy Leconte, Nuno Santos, Sebastien Lebonnois, Franck Lefevre, and Pedro Machado
11:00–11:15 |
Ashwyn Groot, Victor Trees, Joey Cheung, Loïc Rossi, and Daphne Stam
11:15–11:30 |
Benjamin Rackham, Dániel Apai, Mark Giampapa, Néstor Espinoza, Nikku Madhusudhan, and Yifan Zhou
11:30–11:45 |
Shingo Kameda, Alexander Tavrov, Go Murakami, Keigo Enya, Masahiro Ikoma, Norio Narita, Hitoshi Fujiwara, Naoki Terada, Oleg Korablev, and Mikhail Sachkov