EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



This session welcomes contributions addressing asteroid science primarily building on data from the Dawn and other spacecraft missions, along with complementary observations from ground and space telescopic assets. Studies on the composition, geological properties, surface and internal processes of Vesta, Ceres, and other main belt asteroids in general are encouraged. We also foster studies on the formation of planetesimals, their differentiation, and further evolution, including their collisional break-up and creation of families of new generation asteroids. Contributions shedding new light on the processes driving asteroid accretion, evolution, and the information they bring to early solar system history, are also welcomed. This session aims to provide an update on the state of knowledge of the Main Belt.

Convener: Mauro Ciarniello | Co-conveners: Julie Castillo, Daniele Fulvio, Simone Ieva, Katharina Otto, Marcel Popescu, Andrea Raponi
| Mon, 16 Sep, 15:30–18:30
Venus (Room 6)
| Attendance Tue, 17 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Mon, 16 Sep, 08:30–Wed, 18 Sep, 11:00|Basement

Monday, 16 September 2019 | Venus (Room 6)

Chairperson: A. Raponi and M. Popescu
15:30–15:45 |
| solicited talk
Carol A. Raymond, Julie C. Castillo-Rogez, Anton I. Ermakov, Jennifer E. C. Scully, Ryan S. Park, Thomas H. Prettyman, Debra L. Buczkowski, Paul Schenk, Britney E. Schmidt, Hanna G. Sizemore, Andreas Nathues, Simone Marchi, Brandon Johnson, and Christopher T. Russell
15:45–16:00 |
Andreas Nathues, Nico Schmedemann, Thangjam Guneshwar, Jan-Hendrick Pasckert, Kurt Mengel, Julie Castillo-Rogez, Ed Cloutis, Harald Hiesinger, Martin Hoffmann, Lucille Le Corre, Jian-Yang Li, Carle Pieters, Carol Raymond, Vishnu Reddy, Ottaviano Ruesch, and Dave Williams
16:00–16:15 |
Paul Schenk, Jennifer Scully, Hanna Sizemore, Debra Buczkowski, Britney Schmidt, Chris Russell, Julie Castillo-Rogez, and Carol Raymond
16:15–16:30 |
Nathaniel Stein, Bethany Ehlmann, Michael Bland, Julie Castillo-Rogez, and David Stevenson
16:30–16:45 |
Michelangelo Formisano, Costanzo Federico, Julie Castillo-Rogez, Maria Cristina De Sanctis, and Gianfranco Magni
16:45–17:00 |
Pasquale Tricarico
Chairperson: M. Ciarniello and S. Ieva
17:15–17:30 |
Andrew Dombard, Wesley Tucker, Saeida Ahmadi, and Roy Plotnick
17:30–17:45 |
Rutu Parekh
17:45–18:00 |
Vassilissa Vinogradoff, Giovanni Poggiali, John Brucato, Andrea Raponi, Mauro Ciarniello, Simone De Angelis, Marco Ferrari, Eleonora Ammanito, and Maria Cristina De Sanctis
18:00–18:15 |
Driss Takir, Wladimir Neumann, Sean N. Raymond, and Josh P. Emery
18:15–18:30 |
Andrew Rivkin and Angela Stickle