EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



This session will promote studies on the general advancement and discussion of future perspectives in the utilization of observational and experimental techniques to characterize small bodies, their surfaces, and also the dust in the solar system. Abstracts are solicited on progresses in numerical methods to extract relevant information from images, photometry, polarimetry and spectroscopy in solid phase, reference laboratory databases, photometric modeling, interpreting features on planetary surfaces, mixing/unmixing methods, and radiative transfer in complex particulate media. Software and web service applications are welcome.

This session also aims to overview the progress in polarimetry of the solar-system and exosolar objects (including disks) and to outline future trends in polarimetric studies. We welcome presentations on recent results on polarimetric ground-based and space instrumentation, observations and computer/laboratory modeling, as well as studies on the history of polarimetry and its future prospects.

This session will celebrate the 200 year anniversary of the first use of polarimetry in astronomy by Francois Arago, when he discovered polarization in the Great Comet of 1819. Since that time polarimetry became one of the major tools in astrophysics, which provides key information on physical properties of dust/aerosol particles, surfaces, and magnetic fields in the solar system and beyond.

Convener: Frédéric Schmidt | Co-conveners: Stéphane Erard, Maria Gritsevich, Oleksandra Ivanova, Ludmilla Kolokolova, Harald Krüger, A.Chantal Levasseur-Regourd, Karri Muinonen, Antti Penttilä, John Plane, Andrew Poppe, Vira Rozenbush
| Fri, 20 Sep, 08:30–12:00, 13:30–17:00
Venus (Room 6)
| Attendance Thu, 19 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Wed, 18 Sep, 14:00–Fri, 20 Sep, 17:30|Basement

Friday, 20 September 2019 | Venus (Room 6)

Chairperson: O. Ivanova, L. Kolokolova, A.-C. Levasseur-Regourd
Polarimetry of small bodies and dust
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited talk
A.Chantal Levasseur-Regourd
08:45–08:55 |
Rok Nezic, Stefano Bagnulo, Geraint Jones, and Galin Borisov
09:05–09:15 |
Joonas Herranen, Karri Muinonen, Jürgen Blum, and Johannes Markkanen
09:15–09:30 |
| solicited talk
Irina N. Belskaya, Vasilij G. Shevchenko, and Yurij N. Ktugly
09:30–09:40 |
Alberto Cellino, Stefano Bagnulo, Apostolos Christou, and Irina Belskaya
09:40–09:50 |
Sloane Wiktorowicz, Joseph Masiero, and Jay Goguen
09:50–10:00 |
Yurii Krugly, Irina N. Belskaya, Sofiia S. Mykhailova, Zahary Donchev, Raguli Ya. Inasaridze, Alexey V. Sergeyev, Ivan G. Slyusarev, Vasilij G. Shevchenko, Vasilij G. Chiorny, Vasilij V. Rumyantsev, Artem O. Novichonok, Vova Ayvazian, Givi Kapanadze, Otar I. Kvaratskhelia, Tanyu Bonev, Galin Borisov, Igor E. Molotov, and Victor A. Voropaev
Coffee break
Chairperson: M. Gritsevich, J. Plane, A. Poppe, V. Rosenbush
Imagery and spectroscopy of small bodies and dust
10:30–10:45 |
| solicited talk
Pierre Vernazza, Laurent Jorda, Benoît Carry, Franck Marchis, Micheal Marsset, Josef Hanus, and Matti Viikinkoski and the the HARISSA Team
10:45–10:55 |
Benoit Carry, Federic Vachier, Pierre Vernazza, Josef Hanus, Alexis Drouard, Michael Marsset, Matti Viikinkoski, and Laurent Jorda
10:55–11:10 |
| solicited talk
Anita Cochran
11:10–11:20 |
Julia Martikainen, Timo Väisänen, Antti Penttilä, and Karri Muinonen
11:30–11:40 |
Josef Hanus, Marco Delbo', Petr Pokorny, Ernesto Palomba, and Joshua Emery
11:40–11:50 |
Mario De Pra, Javier Licandro, Noemi Pinilla-Alonso, Vania Lorenzi, Eduardo Rondon, Jorge Carvano, David Morate, and Julia De Leon
11:50–12:00 |
Lauren McGraw, Joshua Emery, Cristina Thomas, Andrew Rivkin, and Nathanael Wigton
Lunch break
Chairperson: S. Erard, F. Schmidt
Shape and surface properties
13:30–13:40 |
Sean Marshall, Patrick Taylor, Edgard Rivera-Valentín, Flaviane Venditti, Anne Virkki, Lance Benner, Marina Brozović, Shantanu Naidu, Luisa Zambrano-Marin, Sriram Bhiravarasu, Betzaida Aponte-Hernandez, and Carolina Rodriguez Sanchez-Vahamonde
13:40–13:50 |
Patrick Taylor, Edgard Rivera-Valentín, and Betzaida Aponte-Hernandez
13:50–14:00 |
Anne Virkki, Flaviane Venditti, Sean Marshall, Dylan Hickson, Luisa F. Zambrano-Marin, and Patrick A. Taylor
14:00–14:10 |
Ines Belgacem, Frédéric Schmidt, and Grégory Jonniaux
14:10–14:20 |
Dmitry A. Duev, Ashish Mahabal, and Quanzhi Ye
14:20–14:30 |
Altair Ramos Gomes Júnior, Marcelo Assafin, Felipe Braga Ribas, Gustavo Benedetti Rossi, Júlio Camargo, Bruno Morgado, Rodrigo Boufleur, and Roberto Martins
14:30–14:40 |
Mary Hinkle, Ellen Howell, Yanga Fernandez, Ronald Vervack, Jr., Christopher Magri, Andy Rivkin, Sean Marshall, and Jenna Crowell
14:40–14:50 |
David Morate, Julia De León, Mario De Prá, Javier Licandro, Noemí Pinilla-Alonso, Humberto Campins, Anicia Arredondo, Jorge Carvano, Daniela Lazzaro, and Antonio Cabrera-Lavers
14:50–15:00 |
David Polishook and Oded Aharonson
Coffee break
Chairperson: K. Muinonen, A. Penttilä
Radiative transfer : model and observation
15:30–15:40 |
Timo Väisänen, Julia Martikainen, and Karri Muinonen
15:40–15:50 |
Antti Penttilä, Timo Väisänen, Johannes Markkanen, Julia Martikainen, Tomas Kohout, Gorden Videen, and Karri Muinonen
15:50–16:00 |
Benjamin N. L. Sharkey, Vishnu Reddy, Juan A. Sanchez, Matthew R. M. Izawa, and Joshua P. Emery
16:10–16:20 |
Michael Marsset, Francesca DeMeo, David Polishook, and Richard Binzel
16:20–16:30 |
Wesley Fraser, Megan Schwamb, Michele Bannister, Michael Marsset, Rosemary Pike, Jj Kavelaars, Susan Benecchi, Matthew Lehner, Shiang-yu Wang, Audrey Thirouin, Nuno Peixinho, Kathryn Volk, Mike Alexandersen, Ying-tung Chen, Brett Gladman, Stephen Gwyn, and Jean-marc Petit
16:30–16:40 |
Galin Borisov, Apostolos Christou, Stefano Bagnulo, Alberto Cellino, and Aldo Dell’Oro
16:40–16:50 |
Mike Alexandersen, Rosemary Pike, Yeeun Hyun, and Ashwani Rajan
16:50–17:00 |
Albert Conrad, Vishnu Reddy, Benjamin Sharkey, Olga Kuhn, Theodore Kareta, and Christian Veillet