EPSC-DPS Joint Meeting 2019
Centre International de Conférences de Genève (CICG) | Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019
Geneva | Switzerland
15–20 September 2019



The traditional method of outreach to formal, informal, science and non-science audiences has undergone a fundamental change with recent advances in technology, social media and crowd-sourced data, giving way to citizen science with many applications, including the recent Total Solar Eclipse 2017 (U.S.A.) and 2019 (Chile, Argentina); ground-based pro-am observer synergies for missions (e.g., ESA/Rosetta, NASA/Juno); and self-organized citizen campaigns (comets, moon, etc.). With increasing “Big Data” projects, active partnerships between professional, amateur and data scientist communities are necessary. Innovative design, sustainability and evaluation of these projects is as important as the citizen science they generate. This session builds on these projects and invites papers from scientists, educators and as well as those who design, facilitate, evaluate or fund such programs. Topics may include methodology, applications of citizen science to enhancing outreach, transformative approaches to science education. Presentations are invited from all scientific disciplines of astronomy, planetary and space science, geology and geophysics, seismology, atmospheric and ocean sciences.

Convener: Padma Yanamandra-Fisher | Co-conveners: Andy Casely, Brian Day, Javier Peralta, Arianna Piccialli, Miguel Pérez-Ayúcar
| Mon, 16 Sep, 08:30–10:15
Mercury (Room 7+8)
| Attendance Tue, 17 Sep, 17:15–18:45 | Display Mon, 16 Sep, 08:30–Wed, 18 Sep, 11:00|Level 1
Display time: Monday, 16 September 2019 08:30–Wednesday, 18 September 11:00

Attendance time: Tuesday, 17 September 2019, 17:15–18:45 | Level 1

Chairperson: Padma Yanamandra-Fisher, Brian Day
L1.41 |
Jose Antonio Gordillo Martorell, Javier Martin-Torres, Mª Paz Zorzano Mier, and David Cuartielles
Chairperson: Padma Yanamandra-Fisher, Brian Day
L1.42 |
Konstantina Moutsouroufi, Grigoris Maravelias, Iakovos Marios Strikis, Emmanuel Kardasis, Orfefs Voutyras, Giorgos Kountouris, Athanasios Evangelopoulos, Konstantinos Aggelis, Pierros Papadeas, Tamara Schmidt, and Apostolos Christou
Chairperson: Padma Yanamandra-Fisher, Brian Day
L1.43 |
Anita Heward, Fraser Lewis, Richard Miles, Sarah Roberts, Paul Roche, and Lothar Kurtze
Chairperson: Padma Yanamandra-Fisher, Brian Day
L1.44 |
Billy Edwards, Quentin Changeat, Kai Hou Yip, Angelos Tsiaras, Giovanna Tinetti, and Marcell Tessenyi
Chairperson: Padma Yanamandra-Fisher, Brian Day
L1.45 |
Nuno R. C. Gomes, Juan Carlos Farah, Rosa Doran, and Denis Gillet
Chairperson: Padma Yanamandra-Fisher, Brian Day
L1.46 |
Przemysław Bartczak, Toni Santana-Ros, Arkadiusz Hypki, Magdalena Otulakowska-Hypka, and Grzegorz Dudziński