Contributions are invited on innovative observational, theoretical and modelling studies concerning physical processes in coastal and shelf seas. Processes can include hydrodynamics (e.g., waves, tides, currents and Stokes drift, upwelling, eddies, density structures), transport of material (e.g., sediments, contaminants, litter, nutrients), and morphodynamics and sea-bed structure (e.g., evolution of bed forms, banks, Holocene-Antropogene strata or basin shape). Study areas are envisaged between the base of the shelf break and the seaward limit of the surf zone, including tidal basins. However, contributions on processes outside these geographical limits will be considered where they significantly influence processes within these limits. Equally, contributions on climate dynamics, biogeochemistry, and man-made structures will be considered where they significantly influence, or are significantly influenced by, the processes aimed at in this session. In addition to the above, this session welcomes coastal and shelf seas related abstracts that do not fit into the more specialist sessions. Special attention will be given to interactions between physics and biology/biogeochemistry and to global to local scaling of processes, their relative importance, and the representation of these transitions in models. A subsession is envisaged on the Baltic Sea, with emphasis on the Baltic Earth programme, focusing on sea-level variability, salinity dynamics and water budget, biogeochemical feedbacks, extreme events and anthropogenically induced changes.

Convener: Johan van der Molen | Co-conveners: Huib E. de Swart, Andreas Lehmann, Georgy Shapiro
| Wed, 10 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room 1.85
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room 1.85

Chairperson: Andreas Lehmann, Georgy Shapiro
08:45–09:00 |
Long Jiang, Theo Gerkema, and Karline Soetaert
09:00–09:15 |
Rinse de Swart, Francesca Ribas, Daniel Calvete, Alejandro Orfila, and Aart Kroon
09:15–09:30 |
Sang Yeob Kim, Young-Gyu Park, Ho Jin Lee, Young Ho Kim, Gyundo Pak, and Seongbong Seo
09:30–09:45 |
Marcel Ricker, Emil V. Stanev, Thomas Badewien, Holger Freund, Sebastian Grayek, Florian Hahner, Jens Meyerjürgens, Rosanna I. Schöneich-Argent, Jörg-Olaf Wolff, and Oliver Zielinski
09:45–10:00 |
Andrey Pleskachevsky, Sven Jacobsen, Björn Tings, Egbert Schwarz, Detmar Krause, and Holger Daedelow
10:00–10:15 |
Sophie-Berenice Wilmes, Peter Robins, Luis Giménez, Enda O'Dea, Jonathan Tinker, and Shelagh Malham
Coffee break
Chairperson: Huib de Swart, Johan van der Molen
10:45–11:00 |
Jose M. Gonzalez-Ondina, Georgy Shapiro, and Francesco Devoto
11:00–11:15 |
Sandra-Esther Brunnabend, Ulf Gräwe, Xaver Lange, and H. E. Markus Meier
11:15–11:30 |
Erin King, Daniel Conley, Gerd Masselink, Nicoletta Leonardi, Robert McCarroll, and Timothy Scott
11:30–11:45 |
Eugenio Ruiz-Castillo, Jonathan Sharples, and Jo Hopkins
11:45–12:00 |
Fatemeh Chegini, Peter Holtermann, Markus Kreus, Knut Klingbeil, Ulf Gräwe, Onur Kerimoglu, Christian Winter, and Hans Burchard
12:00–12:15 |
Klaas Lenstra, Linxi Fu, and Maarten van der Vegt
12:15–12:30 |
Olivier Marchal