The rapid decline of Arctic sea ice in the last decade is a dramatic indicator of climate change.  The last 12 years have seen lower Arctic summer sea ice extents than in the previous 29 years of satellite records. The Arctic sea ice cover is now thinner, weaker and drifts faster. The ocean is also changing, the volume of freshwater stored in the Arctic and has increased as have the inputs of coastal runoff from Siberia and Greenland. Concurrently inflows from the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans have warmed. As the global surface temperature rises, the Arctic Ocean is speculated to become seasonally ice-free in the 21st century, which prompts us to revisit our perceptions of the Arctic system as a whole. What could the Arctic look like in the future? How are the present changes in the Arctic going to affect the lower latitudes? What aspects of the changing Arctic should future observations and modelling programs address? The scientific community is investing considerable effort in organising our current knowledge of the physical and biogeochemical properties of the Arctic, exploring poorly understood coupled atmosphere-sea-ice-ocean processes to improve prediction of future changes in the Arctic.
In this session, we invite contributions on a variety of aspects of past, present and future climates of the Arctic. We encourage submissions addressing interaction between ocean, atmosphere and sea ice and on studies linking changes in the Arctic to the global ocean. Submissions with a focus on emerging cryospheric, oceanic and biogeochemical processes and their implications are particularly welcome. The session promotes results from current Arctic programmes and discussions on future plans for Arctic Ocean modelling and measurement strategies. This session is cosponsored by the CLIVAR /CliC Northern Ocean Regional Panel (NORP) that aims to facilitate progress and identify scientific opportunities in (sub)Arctic ocean-sea-ice-atmosphere research.

Co-organized as AS4.10/CL2.03/CR6.3, co-sponsored by NORP
Convener: Yevgeny Aksenov | Co-conveners: Daniel Feltham, Benjamin Rabe, Paul A. Dodd, Daniela Flocco, Craig Lee, Julienne Stroeve, Andrew Wells
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–12:30, 14:00–15:45
Room L4/5
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X4

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room L4/5

Chairperson: Yevgeny Aksenov and Benjamin Rabe
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
Mary-Louise Timmermans and John Marshall
08:45–09:00 |
Marius Årthun, Tor Eldevik, and Lars H. Smedsrud
09:00–09:15 |
Núria Casacuberta, John Smith, Anne-Marie Wefing, Marcus Christl, Christof Vockenhuber, Maxi Castrillejo, and Michiel Rutgers van der Loeff
09:15–09:30 |
Maria Luneva, Paul Myers, Vladimir Ivanov, Yevgeny Aksenov, Dmitry Dukhovskoy, Elena Golubeva, Gennady Platov, Qiang Wang, and Wenhao Zhang
09:30–09:45 |
Heather Regan, Camille Lique, and Thomas Armitage
09:45–10:00 |
Maria Pisareva, Robert Pickart, Peigen Lin, Paula Fratantoni, and Thomas Weingartner
10:00–10:15 |
Ekaterina Chernyavskaya, Stanisav Malinovskiy, and Leonid Timokhov
Coffee break
Chairperson: Daniel Feltham, Daniela Flocco and Andrew Wells
10:45–11:00 |
| presentation
Steve Delhaye, Thierry Fichefet, François Massonnet, and David Docquier
11:00–11:15 |
Anja Frost, Maurice Wiercioch, Domenico Velotto, Suman Singha, and Stefan Wiehle
11:15–11:30 |
Igor Dmitrenko, Sergei Kirillov, David Babb, Leif Toudal Pedersen, Søren Rysgaard, and David Barber
11:30–11:45 |
Yu Zhang, Tingting Zhu, Gunnar Spreen, Christian melsheimer, Shengkai Zhang, and Fei Li
11:45–12:00 |
Evelyn Jäkel, Johannes Stapf, Manfred Wendisch, Marcel Nicolaus, Wolfgang Dorn, and Annette Rinke
12:00–12:15 |
| presentation
Nikolay V. Koldunov, Sergey Danilov, Dmitry Sidorenko, Nils Hutter, Martin Losch, Helge Goessling, Natalja Rakowsky, Patrick Scholz, Dmitry Sein, Qiang Wang, and Thomas Jung
12:15–12:30 |
Adam Bateson, Daniel Feltham, David Schroeder, Lucia Hosekova, Jeff Ridley, and Yevgeny Aksenov
Lunch break
Chairperson: Paul A. Dodd and Myriel Horn
14:00–14:15 |
Cara Manning, Zhiyin Zheng, Victoria Preston, Annie Bourbonnais, Kevin Manganini, Anna Michel, David Nicholson, Scott Wankel, and Philippe Tortell
14:15–14:30 |
Vasileios Pefanis, Svetlana N. Losa, Mariana A. Soppa, Martin Losch, Stephanie Dutkiewicz, Markus A. Janout, Vladimir V. Rozanov, and Astrid Bracher
14:30–14:45 |
David Marcolino Nielsen, Mikhail Dobrynin, and Johanna Baehr
14:45–15:00 |
Ho Lai Hilary Man, Rujian Wang, Wenshan Xiao, Baochun Zhou, and Christeslle Not
15:00–15:15 |
Michael Mayer, Steffen Tietsche, Takamasa Tsubouchi, Leopold Haimberger, and Johannes Mayer
15:15–15:30 |
Sally Woodhouse, Len Shaffrey, Reinhard Schiemann, and Sheldon Bacon
15:30–15:45 |
Oluwayemi Garuba, Hansi Singh, Phil Rasch, and Elizabeth Hunke