Mesoscale and submesoscale structures such as fronts, meanders, eddies, and filaments are found worldwide, from the global ocean down to marginal seas. During the last years it has been shown that these features play a key role on the advection of heat, salt, biogeochemical properties, and on the enhancement of biological activity gathering all trophic levels. Due to their typical spatial and temporal scales, direct observations of these features remain currently an open challenge and their study requires a joint multi-platform effort combining in situ and remote sensing observations with theory and numerical models.

This session will provide a forum to properly address the new scientific advances associated with:
• Variability of (sub)mesoscale structures through observations (in situ and remote sensing), theory, and numerical simulations.
• 3D dynamics related to (sub)mesoscale features.
• Temporal and spatial interactions between different structures.
• Impact on mixing and transport of hydrographic properties.
• Physical and biogeochemical interactions.
• Limitations and improvements of the observational platforms and numerical simulations.
• A particular emphasis is put on challenges associated with the observation and numerical representation of subsurface (sub)mesoscale eddies.

Solicited speaker: Marina Levy et al., The role of submesoscale currents in structuring phytoplankton diversity

Co-organized as NP6.9
Convener: Bàrbara Barceló-Llull | Co-convener: Angel Amores
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room L4/5
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room L4/5

Chairperson: Bruno Buongiorno Nardelli
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
Marina Levy, Ines Mangolte, Stephanie Dutkiewicz, Sophie Clayton, Shafer Smith, and Peter Franks
08:45–09:00 |
Ines Mangolte, Marina Levy, Stephanie Dutkiewicz, Sophie Clayton, and Oliver Jahn
09:00–09:15 |
Maristella Berta, Annalisa Griffa, Helga Huntley, Andrew Poje, and Tamay Ozgokmen
09:15–09:30 |
Pierre Garreau, Franck Dumas, Stéphanie Louazel, and Stéphanie Correard
09:30–09:45 |
René Schubert, Franziska U. Schwarzkopf, Willi Rath, and Arne Biastoch
09:45–10:00 |
Mathieu Le Corre, Jonathan Gula, and Angelina Smilenova
10:00–10:15 |
| presentation
Jan Jaap Meijer, Helen E. Phillips, Stephen R. Rintoul, and Nathaniel L. Bindoff
Coffee break
Chairperson: Bruno Buongiorno Nardelli
10:45–11:00 |
Igor Belkin, Annie Foppert, Thomas Rossby, Sandra Fontana, and Chris Kincaid
11:00–11:15 |
Ramkrushnbhai Patel, Joan Llort Jordi, Sebastien Moreau, Peter G. Strutton, Helen E. Phillips, and Andrew Lenton
11:15–11:30 |
Yuntao Wang, Hao-Ran Zhang, and Fei Chai
11:30–11:45 |
Anthony Bosse, Ilker Fer, Jonathan Lilly, and Henrick Søiland
11:45–12:00 |
D Gwyn Evans, Eleanor Frajka-Williams, and Alberto Naveira Garabato
12:00–12:15 |
Bieito Fernández-Castro, D. Gwyn Evans, Eleanor Frajka-Williams, and Alberto C Naveira-Garabato
12:15–12:30 |
Ajitha Cyriac, Helen Phillips, Nathan Bindoff, and Ming Feng