Atmospheric composition matters to climate, weather forecasting, human health, terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, agricultural productivity, aeronautical operations, renewable energy production, and more. Hence research in atmospheric composition is becoming increasingly cross-cutting and linked to many disciplines including climate, biogeosciences, hydrology, natural hazards, computer and data sciences, socio-economic studies and many others. There is a growing need for atmospheric composition information and an improved understanding of the processes that drive changes in the composition and resulting impacts. While atmospheric composition research is advancing rapidly, there is a need to pay more attention to the translation of this research to support societal needs. Although translational research is a major focus of the health sciences and meteorology, it is in a relatively early stage in atmospheric composition. In this Union Symposium, we plan to highlight the need for, and to illustrate exciting advances in the translation of atmospheric composition research to support services. We will build upon work within the World Meteorological Organization and other communities related to the closer linkages of weather, atmospheric composition, and climate research and related services. We will also articulate the needs for advances in observing systems, models and a better understanding of fundamental processes. This session will also serve as a celebration of the 30 year anniversary of the WMO Global Atmosphere Watch programme and an opportunity for the broader community to envision partnerships needed to facilitate the effective translation of atmospheric composition research.

Convener: Oksana Tarasova | Co-conveners: Marcos Andrade, Claudia Volosciuk
| Tue, 09 Apr, 10:45–12:15, 14:00–15:30
Room E1

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room E1

Chairperson: Oksana Tarasova
10:45–11:15 |
Gregory Carmichael and Oksana Tarasova
11:15–11:45 |
Markku Kulmala, Tuukka Petäjä, Jaana Bäck, Timo Vesala, and Hanna Lappalainen
11:45–12:15 |
Sara Mikaloff Fletcher, Gordon Brailsford, Mike Harvey, Elizabeth Keller, Peter Sperlich, and Jocelyn Turnbull
Lunch break
Chairperson: Claudia Volosciuk
14:00–14:30 |
| presentation
Xin Huang, Zinlin Wang, and Aijun Ding
15:00–15:30 |
| presentation
Angela Benedetti, Rossana Dragani, and Frederic Vitart