Understanding the impacts of climate change on ice sheets and glaciers requires accurate surface mass balance. The interaction of ice sheets and glaciers with the atmosphere means that coupled atmosphere-ocean modes and large-scale weather patterns, meso-scale circulations over mountains, and local-scale energy and mass exchanges in the near-surface boundary layer can control the surface mass balance. Surface processes including melt-albedo feedbacks and firn densification introduce further complexity in determining surface mass balance. The Ice Sheets Model Intercomparison Project (ISMIP6), part of the Climate Model Intercomparison Project (CMIP6), aims to constrain the total mass balance contribution of ice sheets and glaciers to sea level rise. In this context, accurate estimates of surface mass balance from both models and observations are crucial, and so intercomparisons of models are currently underway.

This session focuses on (i) novel field- and remotely-sensed advances in measuring the surface energy balance and surface mass balance and (ii) process-based modelling that improves our understanding of glacier and ice sheet surface mass balance and atmospheric interaction. We invite contributions from a broad range of theoretical, numerical or observational studies that explore historic, recent and projected changes to glacier and ice sheet surface mass balance and atmospheric interaction. The range of topics includes but is not limited to: surface energy balance; improvements to satellite SMB retrievals; firn densification; future atmospheric circulation impacts; changes in cloudiness; and the impact of impurities upon albedo. We particularly welcome contributions which focus on improvements to process understanding that will lead to better SMB estimates in the future.

Co-organized as CL2.12
Convener: Andrew Tedstone | Co-conveners: Willem Jan van de Berg, Ruth Mottram, Charles Amory, Emily Collier
| Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45, 16:15–18:00
Room N2
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X4

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room N2

Chairperson: Andrew Tedstone, Ruth Mottram
14:00–14:15 |
Maaike Izeboud, Stef Lhermitte, Jan Lenaerts, Kristof Van Tricht, Nicole Van Lipzig, and Nander Wever
14:15–14:30 |
Brice Noël, Willem Jan van de Berg, Stef Lhermitte, and Michiel van den Broeke
14:30–14:45 |
C. Max Stevens, Michael J. MacFerrin, Edwin D. Waddington, and Waleed Abdalati
14:45–15:00 |
Baptiste Vandecrux, Robert Fausto, Dirk van As, William Colgan, Peter Langen, Kevin Sampson, Konrad Steffen, Konstanze Haubner, Thomas Ingemann-Nielsen, Masashi Niwano, and Jason Box
15:15–15:30 |
Bryn Hubbard, Poul Christoffersen, Samuel Doyle, Tom Chudley, Robert Law, Marion Bougamont, and Charlotte Schoonman
15:30–15:45 |
| Highlight
Peter Kuipers Munneke, Stef Lhermitte, Stan Jakobs, Jan Lenaerts, and Michiel Van den Broeke
Coffee break
Chairperson: Emily Collier, Willem Jan van de Berg
16:30–16:45 |
Noel Fitzpatrick, Valentina Radic, and Brian Menounos
17:00–17:15 |
Alexandra Gossart, Niels Souverijns, Leonardus van Kampenhout, Charles Amory, Nicole P.M. van Lipzig, and Jan T.M. Lenaerts
17:15–17:30 |
Heiko Goelzer, Brice Noël, Michiel van den Broeke, and Roderik van de Wal
17:30–17:45 |
Kristian Pagh Nielsen, Patrick Samuelsson, Bolli Palmason, Ruth Mottram, Kenneth Mankoff, and Jason Box
17:45–18:00 |
Tobias Zolles and Andreas Born