The session is dedicated to aspects of high accuracy terrestrial gravity observations. Monitoring of long-term processes in geosciences with gravity meters yields many applications, e.g. in tectonics and land uplift, glacial isostatic adjustment and reveals trends in continental hydrology. Studies in these fields are subject of the session.
The International Gravity Reference System and Frame aims to provide A stable reference for absolute gravity measurements and is planned to rely on reference stations and distributed international and regional comparisons. In combination with continuous monitoring of gravity changes, a comparison function for the validation of absolute meters can be established, ensuring their traceability. Contributions to these aspects are invited. The infrastructure needed to make the frame accessible for the user on the level of national infrastructure, like updates of first order gravity networks, are within the scope of the session.
Advances in the instrumentation for absolute gravimetry are important. Contributions regarding the assessment of the uncertainty budget and systematic instrumental effects as well as the development and deployment of new technologies like quantum sensors are welcome.
The session addresses also the interpretation of high resolution temporal gravity changes, e.g. from superconducting and absolute gravimeters, including the analysis of Earth tides or the impact of water storage changes as well as geophysical applications like geothermal fields, volcano monitoring, the study of loading effects or the comparison with satellite gravity models.

Co-organized as GD10.5
Convener: Hartmut Wziontek | Co-conveners: Vojtech Pálinkáš, Derek van Westrum
| Wed, 10 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Room -2.91
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X3

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room -2.91

Chairperson: Hartmut Wziontek
10:45–11:00 |
| solicited
| Highlight
Bruno Meurers
11:00–11:15 |
Franck Pereira Dos Santos, Romain Karcher, and Sébastien Merlet
11:15–11:30 |
Hannu Ruotsalainen, Mirjam Bilker-Koivula, Jyri Näränen, Jaakko Mäkinen, and Heikki Virtanen
11:30–11:45 |
Otakar Nesvadba, Martin Lederer, and Vojtech Pálinkáš
12:00–12:15 |
Ilya Oshchepkov and Roman Sermyagin
12:15–12:30 |
Andreas Engfeldt, Per-Anders Olsson, Holger Steffen, Martin Lidberg, and Jonas Ågren