The US/German GRACE Follow-on (GRACE-FO) mission, successfully launched on 22 May 2018, prolongs the observations of the Gravity Recovery and Climate Experiment (GRACE). Satellite gravimetry missions such as GRACE, GRACE-FO and the Gravity field and steady-state Ocean Circulation Explorer (GOCE) have showed their fundamental impact for climate research studies and other geophysical or geodetic applications. The gravity field solutions can be complemented by data from other non-dedicated satellite missions like SWARM.
The great success of these missions clearly shows that global gravity variations can be at best monitored from space. Therefore, various initiatives are ongoing to prepare for future gravity missions: simulation studies have been performed, user and mission requirements have been defined and potential measurement equipment and orbit scenarios have been investigated.

This session solicits contributions about
(1) results from satellite gravimetry missions as well as from non-dedicated missions in terms of
- data analyses
- combination synergies
- Earth science applications
(2) status and study results for future gravity field missions.

Convener: Torsten Mayer-Guerr | Co-conveners: Richard Biancale (deceased), Christoph Dahle, Philipp Zingerle
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room D2
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X3

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room D2

Chairperson: Torsten Mayer-Gürr
08:30–08:45 |
| Highlight
Frank Flechtner, Frank Webb, Felix Landerer, Christoph Dahle, Michael Watkins, Phil Morton, and Himanshu Save
08:45–09:00 |
Felix Landerer, Christoph Dahle, Frank Webb, Frank Flechtner, Himanshu Save, David Wiese, Chris McCullough, Dah-Ning Yuan, Srinivas Bettadpur, and Michael Murboeck
09:00–09:15 |
Byron Tapley, Frank Flecthner, Srinivas Bettadpur, Himanshu Save, Carmen Boening, and Michael Watkins
09:15–09:30 |
Metehan Uz, Kun Shang, Orhan Akyilmaz, Ck Shum, Junyi Guo, Aydin Ustun, and Yu Zhang
09:30–09:45 |
Pavel Ditmar and Marenka Brussee
09:45–10:00 |
Anna Klos, Jürgen Kusche, Janusz Bogusz, Anne Springer, Roelof Rietbroek, Christina Lück, and Makan Karegar
10:00–10:15 |
Spiros Pagiatakis and Athina Peidou
Coffee break
Chairperson: Christoph Dahle
10:45–11:00 |
Thomas Grombein, Daniel Arnold, and Adrian Jäggi
11:00–11:15 |
Christoph Förste, Oleg Abrykosov, Sean Bruinsma, Christoph Dahle, Rolf König, and Jean-Michel Lemoine
11:15–11:30 |
| presentation
Jan Martin Brockmann, Till Schubert, Torsten Mayer-Gürr, and Wolf-Dieter Schuh
11:30–11:45 |
Andreas Kvas, Torsten Mayer-Gürr, Jan Martin Brockmann, Till Schubert, Wolf-Dieter Schuh, Roland Pail, Thomas Gruber, Adrian Jäggi, Ulrich Meyer, and Sandro Krauss
11:45–12:00 |
Mathis Bloßfeld, Ulrich Meyer, Krzysztof Sosnica, and Adrian Jäggi
12:00–12:15 |
Pieter Visser, Joao Teixeira da Encarnacao, Eelco Doornbos, Jose van den IJssel, Xinyuan Mao, Elisabetta Iorfida, Daniel Arnold, Adrian Jaeggi, Ulrich Meyer, Ales Bezdek, Josef Sebera, Jaroslav Klokocnik, Matthias Ellmer, Torsten Mayer-Guerr, Junyi Guo, Ck Shum, and Yu Zhang
12:15–12:30 |
| presentation
Anna Purkhauser and Roland Pail