Precise orbit determination is of central importance for many applications of geodesy and earth science. The challenge is to determine satellite orbits in an absolute sense at the centimeter or even sub-centimeter level, and at the millimeter or even sub-millimeter level in a relative sense. New constellations of GNSS satellites are currently being completed and numerous position-critical missions (e.g. altimetry, gravity, SAR and SLR missions) are currently in orbit. All together outstanding data are available offering new opportunities to push orbit determination to the limit and to explore new applications.

This session aims to make accessible the technical challenges of orbit determination and modelling to the wider community and to quantify the nature of the impact of dynamics errors on the various applications. Contributions are solicited but not limited to the following areas: (1) precise orbit determination and validation; (2) satellite surface force modelling; (3) advances in modelling atmospheric density and in atmospheric gravity; (4) advances in modelling earth radiation fluxes and their interaction with space vehicles; (5) analysis of changes in geodetic parameters/earth models resulting from improved force modelling/orbit determination methods; (6) improvements in observable modelling for all tracking systems, e.g. SLR, DORIS, GNSS and their impact on orbit determination; (7) advances in combining the different tracking systems for orbit determination; (8) the impact of improved clock modelling methods/space clocks on precise orbit determination; (9) advances in modelling satellite attitude.

Convener: Adrian Jaeggi | Co-conveners: Urs Hugentobler, Oliver Montenbruck, Heike Peter, Jose van den IJssel
| Mon, 08 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Room -2.91
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X3

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room -2.91

Chairperson: Adrian Jäggi
10:45–11:00 |
| solicited
Alexandre Couhert, Flavien Mercier, Christian Bizouard, and Richard Biancale
11:00–11:15 |
Jaime Fernandez Sanchez, Emilio José Calero, Heike Peter, and Pierre Féménias
11:15–11:30 |
Kristin Vielberg and Jürgen Kusche
11:30–11:45 |
Daniel Arnold, Stefan Schaer, Arturo Villiger, Rolf Dach, and Adrian Jäggi
11:45–12:00 |
Volker Mayer, Tim Springer, Erik Schönemann, and Werner Enderle
12:00–12:15 |
Krzysztof Sośnica, Grzegorz Bury, and Radosław Zajdel
12:15–12:30 |
Lars Prange, Rolf Dach, Gerhard Beutler, Arturo Villiger, Daniel Arnold, Stefan Schaer, and Adrian Jäggi