Physical processes of Air-Sea Interaction and their representation

This session aims at fostering exchanges and discussions on the physical processes at work at the air-sea interface, their observation, and their representation in coupled numerical models.

Examples of such processes are sun-induced diurnal warming and rain-induced cool and fresh lenses, as well as gustiness associated with atmospheric boundary layer thermals or moist convection and cold pools induced by rain evaporation. Surface temperature and salinity fronts, oceanic meso- and sub-mesoscale dynamics are also of great interest.

This session is thus intended for (i) contributions presenting observational or theoretical aspects of the processes described above and their impact on energy and water exchanges at the interface, and (ii) contributions focusing on the mathematical and algorithmic methods used to represent these processes in coupled ocean-atmosphere models.

This session seeks observational studies based on recent campaigns such as (but not limited to) SPURS-2, YMC, or PISTON, or on satellite remote sensing. This session also aims to gather studies using numerical models of any level of complexity (from highly idealized to realistic) and any resolution from Large Eddy Simulation (LES) to global circulation models. Studies describing the impact of the air-sea interaction physical processes on the mean global or regional climates and variability representation are also welcome.

Co-organized as OS4.14
Convener: Hugo Bellenger | Co-conveners: Kyla Drushka, Audrey Hasson, Brian Ward
| Mon, 08 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room -2.47
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X5

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room -2.47

Chairperson: 16125
Heat exchanges
Chairperson: 16125
Chairperson: 16125
08:45–09:00 |
David Wang, Hemantha Wijesekera, and Ewa Jarosz
Chairperson: 16125
09:00–09:15 |
Dariusz Baranowski, Adrian Matthews, Pn Vinayachandran, Alejandra Sanchez-Franks, Benjamin Webber, Bastien Queste, and Karen Heywood
Chairperson: 16125
09:15–09:30 |
Pierre-Etienne Brilouet, Jean-Luc Redelsperger, Marie-Noëlle Bouin, and Fleur Couvreux
Chairperson: 16125
Momentum exchanges
Chairperson: 16125
09:30–09:45 |
Yanxu Chen, David Straub, and Louis-Philippe Nadeau
Chairperson: 16125
09:45–10:00 |
Ewa Jarosz, Hemantha Wijesekera, and David Wang
Chairperson: 16125
10:00–10:15 |
Olivier Torres, Pascale Braconnot, and Olivier Marti
Coffee break
Chairperson: 16126
Mass exchanges
Chairperson: 16126
10:45–11:00 |
| solicited
Julian Schanze, Scott Springer, Elizabeth Thompson, Gary Lagerloef, and Raymond Schmitt
Chairperson: 16126
11:00–11:15 |
Ana Trindade, Marcos Portabella, Ad Stoffelen, Anton Verhoef, and Mercè Vall-llossera
Chairperson: 16126
11:15–11:30 |
Alexandre Supply, Jacqueline Boutin, Gilles Reverdin, Jean-Luc Vergely, and Masaki Katsumata
Chairperson: 16126
11:30–11:45 |
Anneke ten Doeschate, Brian Ward, Leonie Esters, and Graig Sutherland
Chairperson: 16126
11:45–12:00 |
Tom Dror, Yoav Lehahn, Orit Altaratz, and Ilan Koren
Chairperson: 16126
Modeling approaches
Chairperson: 16126
12:00–12:15 |
Théo Brivoal, Guillaume Samson, Hervé Giordani, Romain Bourdallé-Badie, and Florian Lemarié
Chairperson: 16126
12:15–12:30 |
David Ferreira, Sophia Ashby, Helene Hewitt, and Malcolm Roberts