The understanding of tropical phenomena and their representation in numerical models still raise important scientific and technical questions, particularly in the coupling between the dynamics and diabatic processes. Among these phenomena, tropical cyclones (TC) are of critical interest because of their societal impacts and because of uncertainties in how their characteristics (cyclogenesis processes, occurrence, intensity, latitudinal extension, translation speed) will change in the framework of global climate change. The monitoring of TCs, their forecasts at short to medium ranges, and the prediction of TC activity at extended range (15-30 days) and seasonal range are also of great societal interest.

The aim of the session is to promote discussions between scientists focusing on the physics and dynamics of tropical phenomena. This session is thus open to contributions on all aspects of tropical meteorology between the convective and planetary scale, such as:

- Tropical cyclones,
- Convective organisation,
- Diurnal variations,
- Local circulations (i.e. island, see-breeze, etc.),
- Monsoon depressions,
- Equatorial waves and other synoptic waves (African easterly waves, etc.),
- The Madden-Julian oscillation,
- etc.

We especially encourage contributions of observational analyses and modelling studies of tropical cyclones and other synoptic-scale tropical disturbances including the physics and dynamics of their formation, structure, and intensity, and mechanisms of variability of these disturbances on intraseasonal to interannual and climate time scales.

Findings from recent field campaigns such as YMC and PISTON are also encouraged.

Co-organized as NH1.16
Convener: Jean Philippe Duvel | Co-conveners: Eric Maloney, Kevin Reed, Enrico Scoccimarro, Allison Wing
| Mon, 08 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room F1, Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15, 10:45–12:30, 14:00–15:45
Room F1
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X5

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room F1

Chairperson: Jean-Philippe Duvel
16:15–16:30 |
Malcolm Roberts, Enrico Scoccimarro, Joanne Camp, Pier Luigi Vidale, Kevin Hodges, Benoit Vanniere, Jenny Mecking, Rein Haarsma, Alessio Bellucci, Louis-Philippe Caron, Fabrice Chauvin, Dian Putrasahan, Christopher Roberts, Ming Zhao, Ruby Leung, Yohei Yamada, and Qing Bao
16:30–16:45 |
Samuel Dandoy, Francesco S.R. Pausata, René Laprise, and Katja Winger
16:45–17:00 |
Vladimir Zeitlin and Masoud Rostami
17:00–17:15 |
| Highlight
Hiroyuki Murakami, Masuo Nakano, Venkatachalam Ramaswamy, Thomas Delworth, Sarah Kapnick, Rich Gudgel, Takashi Mochizuki, Yushi Morioka, and Takeshi Doi
17:30–17:45 |
Neetu Suresh, Matthieu Lengaigne, Jerome Vialard, Guillaume Samson, Sebastien Masson, Krishnamohan Ks, and Suresh Iyyappan
17:45–18:00 |
Yangchen Lai, Jianfeng Li, Guofeng Wu, and Qingquan Li

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room F1

Chairperson: Enrico Scoccimarro
08:30–08:45 |
Hong Huang, Ju Wang, Dan Wu, Chunming Wang, and Xuezhong Wang
09:30–09:45 |
Bethan Harris, Remi Tailleux, Christopher Holloway, and Pier Luigi Vidale
09:45–10:00 |
| Highlight
Samantha Hallam, Robert Marsh, Simon Josey, Patrick Hyder, Ben Moat, and Joel Hirschi
10:00–10:15 |
Shreyas Dhavale, Milind Mujumdar, and Roxy Mathew Koll
Coffee break
Chairperson: Eric Maloney
10:45–11:00 |
Jonathan Zawislak, Robert Rogers, Leon Nguyen, and Jun Zhang
11:00–11:15 |
Hannah Clark, Frank Roux, Kuo-Ying Wang, Susanne Rohs, Bastien Sauvage, Gary Lloyd, and Iagos Team
11:15–11:30 |
Yukihiro Takahashi, Mitsuteru Sato, Hisayuki Kubota, Kozo Yamashita, Jun-ichi Hamada, Ellison Castro, Tetsuro Ishida, Loren Estrebillo, Doreena Pulutan, and Purwadi Purwadi
11:30–11:45 |
Minhee Chang, Chang-Hoi Ho, Johnny C. L. Chan, Myung-Sook Park, Seok-Woo Son, and Jinwon Kim
11:45–12:00 |
Daniele Peano, Enrico Scoccimarro, Alessio Bellucci, Annalisa Cherchi, Alessandro D'Anca, Fabrizio Antonio, Sandro Fiore, and Silvio Gualdi
12:00–12:15 |
Thomas Fiolleau, Remy Roca, Sophie Cloche, and Patrick Raberanto
12:15–12:30 |
Erik Höjgård-Olsen, Hélène Brogniez, and Hélène Chepfer
Lunch break
Chairperson: Kevin Reed
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
Zeljka Fuchs-Stone and David J Raymond
14:15–14:30 |
Naoko Sakaeda, Scott Powell, Juliana Dias, and George Kiladis
14:30–14:45 |
Shuichi Mori, Jun-Ichi Hamada, Peiming Wu, Ryuichi Shirooka, Satoru Yokoi, Kunio Yoneyama, Urip Haryoko, Noer Nurhayati, Reni Sulistyowati, and Fadli Syamsudin
14:45–15:00 |
Chung-Hsiung Sui, Ching-Shu Hung, and Wei-Ting Chen
15:15–15:30 |
Andreas Schlüter, Peter Knippertz, Andreas H. Fink, and Peter Vogel
15:30–15:45 |
Iris-Amata Dion, Philippe Ricaud, Peter Haynes, Fabien Carminati, and Thibaut Dauhut