Clouds and aerosols play a key role in climate and weather-related processes over a wide range of spatial and temporal scales. An initial forcing due to changes in the aerosol concentration and composition may also be enhanced or dampened by feedback processes such as modified cloud dynamics, surface exchange or atmospheric circulation patterns. This session aims to link research activities in observations and modelling of radiative, dynamical and microphysical processes of clouds and aerosols and their interactions. Studies addressing several aspects of the aerosol-cloud-radiation-precipitation system are encouraged.

Topic covered in this session include:
- Cloud and aerosol macro- and microphysical properties, precipitation formation mechanisms
- The role of aerosols and clouds for the radiative energy budget
- Observational constraints on aerosol-cloud interactions
- Cloud-resolving modelling
- Parameterization of cloud and aerosol microphysics/dynamics/radiation
- Use of observational simulators to constrain aerosols and clouds in models
- Experimental cloud and aerosol studies
- Aerosol, cloud and radiation interactions and feedbacks in the climate system

Invited Speaker
Paquita Zuidema (RSMAS, University of Miami)
Leo Donner (NOAA GFDL)

Convener: Edward Gryspeerdt | Co-conveners: Annica Ekman, Philip Stier, Wei-Kuo Tao
| Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room 0.49
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X5

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room 0.49

Chairperson: Edward Gryspeerdt
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
Leo Donner, Huan Guo, and Charles Seman
14:15–14:30 |
Constanze Wellmann, Andrew Barrett, Jill Johnson, Michael Kunz, Bernhard Vogel, Ken Carslaw, and Corinna Hoose
14:30–14:45 |
Gregor Pante, Peter Knippertz, Andreas H. Fink, and Anke Kniffka
14:45–15:00 |
Thumree Sarkar, Sagnik Dey, and Dilip Ganguly
15:00–15:15 |
Quentin Coopman, Corinna Hoose, and Martin Stengel
15:15–15:30 |
| presentation
Jukka-Pekka Keskinen, Jaakko Ahola, Muzaffer Ege Alper, Harri Kokkola, Kalle Nordling, Tomi Raatikainen, Sami Romakkaniemi, Petri Räisänen, Juha Tonttila, Antti-Ilari Partanen, and Hannele Korhonen
15:30–15:45 |
Franziska Glassmeier, Fabian Hoffmann, Jill S. Johnson, Takanobu Yamaguchi, Ken S. Carslaw, and Graham Feingold
Coffee break
Chairperson: Annica Ekman
16:15–16:30 |
| solicited
Paquita Zuidema, Jens Redemann, Robert Wood, and Jim Haywood
16:30–16:45 |
Nick Schutgens
16:45–17:00 |
Eshkol Eytan, Ilan Koren, Orit Altaratz, Alex Kostinski, and Ayala Ronen
17:00–17:15 |
Moa K. Sporre, Sara M. Blichner, Roland Schrödner, Inger H. H. Karset, Terje K. Berntsen, and Risto Makkonen
17:15–17:30 |
Maria Burgos, Gloria Titos, Elisabeth Andrews, Virginie Buchard, Cynthia Randles, Alf Kirkevag, and Paul Zieger
17:30–17:45 |
Brian Soden and Eui-Seok Chung