The Sentinel-5 Precursor mission, launched on Oct. 13 2017, is the first atmospheric Sentinel and will support Copernicus services in particular for atmospheric applications, including activities such as air quality, ozone and climate monitoring. The instrument TROPOMI (Tropospheric Monitoring Instrument) is the single payload of the Sentinel-5 Precursor satellite and was co-funded by ESA and The Netherlands. Sentinel-5 Precursor will ensure on the one hand continuity of atmospheric satellite data provision from the ESA ERS (GOME), ENVISAT (SCIAMACHY), and the USA EOS-AURA (OMI) missions in the various application and scientific domains and prepares on the other hand for the future atmospheric Sentinel-4 and Sentinel-5 instruments hosted on EUMETSAT platforms. Key features of the TROPOMI instrument are to have global coverage within one day and providing a spatial resolution of 7x3.5 km.
The Sentinel-5 Precursor mission has successfully finalised its Commissioning Phase on April 24 2018. During Commissioning Phase only pre-operational sample data products have been provided to selected Cal/Val experts. The staggered data release to the public has started on July 11 including Level 1B, Ozone, Nitrogen Dioxide, Carbon Monoxide and Cloud & Aerosol information. It is planned that during the ramp-up phase, which has a duration of 8 months all products will be provided to the public (by end Dec. 2018). All data will be provided to the public through the Copernicus Open Data Access Hub at https://scihub.copernicus.eu/. This session will include contributions about the Sentinel-5 Precursor mission status, calibration/validation results, and the demonstration of first applications using TROPOMI products.

Convener: Claus Zehner | Co-conveners: Astrid Christina Koch, Ilse Aben, Diego Loyola, Pepijn Veefkind
| Mon, 08 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room 0.60
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X5

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room 0.60

Chairperson: Claus Zehner, Ilse Aben
08:30–08:45 |
Claus Zehner, Angelika Dehn, Pepijn Veefkind, Diego Loyola, and Ilse Aben
08:45–09:00 |
| Highlight
Pepijn Veefkind, Ilse Aben, Diego Loyola, Angelika Dehn, Andreas Richter, Michel van Roozendael, Richard Siddans, Thomas Wagner, Deborah Stein-Zweers, and Pieternel Levelt
09:00–09:15 |
Antje Ludewig, Quintus Kleipool, Rolf Bartstra, Robin Landzaat, Erwin Loots, Emiel van der Plas, Nico Rozemeijer, Frank Vonk, and Pepijn Veefkind
09:15–09:30 |
| presentation
Henk Eskes, Jos van Geffen, Folkert Boersma, Maarten Sneep, Mark ter Linden, Kai-Uwe Eichmann, and Pepijn Veefkind
09:30–09:45 |
Ronny Lutz, Athina Argyrouli, Fabian Romahn, and Diego Loyola
09:45–10:00 |
Ka Lok Chan, Klaus-Peter Heue, Frank Baier, Mattia Pedergnana, Pieter Valks, Diego Loyola, Mark Wenig, Isabelle De Smedt, Huan Yu, and Michel Van Roozendael
10:00–10:15 |
Antje Inness, Johannes Flemming, Richard Engelen, Zak Kipling, Melanie Ades, Mark Parrington, Jerome Barre, Anna Agusti-Panareda, and Roberto Ribas
Coffee break
Chairperson: Pepijn Veefkind, Diego Loyola
10:45–11:00 |
Tobias Borsdorff, Joost aan de Brugh, Manfred Birk, Georg Wagner, Andreas Schneider, Alba Lorente Delgado, Otto Hasekamp, and Jochen Landgraf
11:00–11:15 |
Alba Lorente, Tobias Borsdorff, Joost aan de Brugh, Andre Butz, Andreas Schneider, Bavo Langerock, Mahesh K. Sha, Otto Hasekamp, and Jochen Landgraf
11:15–11:30 |
Martin de Graaf and Pepijn Veefkind
11:30–11:45 |
Andreas Schneider, Tobias Borsdorff, Joost aan de Brugh, Alba Lorente Delgado, Manfred Birk, Georg Wagner, and Jochen Landgraf
11:45–12:00 |
| presentation
Klaus-Peter Heue, Diego Loyola, Mattia Pedergnana, Walter Zimmer, Simon Chabrillat, Quentin Errera, Jerald Ziemke, and Natalya Kramarova
12:00–12:15 |
Christophe Lerot, Isabelle De Smedt, Nicolas Theys, Huan Yu, Jonas Vlietinck, Michel Van Roozendael, Trissevgeni Stavrakou, Jean-François Müller, Rainer Volkamer, Kyle Zarzana, Theodore Koenig, and Christopher Lee
12:15–12:30 |
Martine De Mazière, Justus Notholt, Thomas Blumenstock, Huilin Chen, David Griffith, Frank Hase, Pauli Heikkinen, Christian Hermans, Alex Hoffman, Marco Huebner, Nicholas Jones, Rigel Kivi, Bavo Langerock, Christof Petri, Mahesh Kumar Sha, Qiansi Tu, and Damien Weidmann