The session will cover all aspects of polar stratospheric ozone, other species in the polar regions as well as all aspects of polar stratospheric clouds. Special emphasis is given to results from recent polar campaigns, including observational and model studies.

We encourage contributions on chemistry, microphysics, radiation, dynamics, small and large scale transport phenomena, mesoscale processes and polar-midlatitudinal exchange. In particular, we encourage contributions on ClOx/BrOx chemistry, chlorine activation, NAT nucleation mechanisms and on transport and mixing of processed air to lower latitudes.

We welcome contributions on polar aspects of ozone/climate interactions, including empirical analyses and coupled chemistry/climate model results and coupling between tropospheric climate patterns and high latitude ozone as well as representation of the polar vortex and polar stratospheric ozone loss in global climate models.

We particularly encourage contributions from the airborne POLSTRACC field campaign (Polar Stratosphere in a Changing Climate) and related activities, which aim at providing new scientific knowledge on the Arctic lowermost stratosphere and upper troposphere in a changing climate. Contributions from WMO's Global Atmosphere Watch (GAW) Programme and from the Network for the Detection of Atmospheric Composition Change (NDACC) are also encouraged.

Convener: Farahnaz Khosrawi | Co-conveners: Michael Pitts, Ines Tritscher, Geir O. Braathen, Bjoern-Martin Sinnhuber
| Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Room 0.60
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X5

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room 0.60

Chairperson: Michael Pitts, Farahnaz Khosrawi
10:45–11:00 |
Harald E. Rieder, Johannes Fritzer, Lorenzo M. Polvani, and Susan Solomon
11:00–11:15 |
Michael Weimer, Jennifer Schröter, Oliver Kirner, Roland Ruhnke, and Peter Braesicke
11:15–11:30 |
Marleen Braun, Jennifer Schröter, Roland Ruhnke, and Peter Braesicke
11:30–11:45 |
Myojeong Gu, Steffen Beirle, Carl-Fredrik Enell, Francois Hendrick, Janis Pukite, Ulrich Platt, Uwe Raffalski, Michel Van Roozendael, and Thomas Wagner
11:45–12:00 |
Franziska Schranz, Jonas Hagen, Klemens Hocke, and Niklaus Kämpfer
12:00–12:15 |
Wolfgang Woiwode, Michael Höpfner, Lei Bi, Farahnaz Khosrawi, and Michelle Santee
12:15–12:30 |
Martin Wirth, Christiane Voigt, Silke Groß, Michael C. Pitts, Lamont R. Poole, Robert Baumann, and Hermann Oelhaf