Reactive halogen species can have an important influence on the chemistry of the troposphere. For instance chlorine atoms react faster with most hydrocarbons than OH does and inorganic bromine and iodine can catalytically destroy tropospheric ozone and oxidise mercury. These reactions have been shown to be important in environments as different as the polar troposphere during the springtime ozone depletion events, the boundary layer over salt lakes, and volcanic plumes. There is strong evidence that halogens play a spatially even wider role in the marine boundary layer and free troposphere for ozone destruction, changes in the ratios of OH/HO2 and NO/NO2, destruction of methane, in the oxidation of mercury and in the formation of secondary aerosol. There are indications that both, oceanic sources as well as the chemistry of halogens and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and oxygenated VOCs (OVOCs) in the tropics are linked with potential implications not only for the photochemistry but also the formation of secondary organic aerosol (SOA). It has been shown how the variability in iodine´s distribution in the ocean can have an impact on iodine production and ozone loss in both the ocean surface and throughout the troposphere. Marine emissions of active halogens have been linked to further potential impacts on oxidants loading in coastal cities. Finally, bromine and iodine are also being proposed as proxies of past sea ice variability.

We invite contributions in the following areas dealing with tropospheric halogens on local, regional, and global scales:

- Model studies: Investigations of the chemical mechanisms leading to release, transformation and removal of reactive halogen species in the troposphere. Studies of consequences of the presence of reactive halogen species in the troposphere.

- Laboratory studies: Determination of gas- and aqueous-phase rate constants, study of complex reaction systems involving halogens, Henry's law and uptake coefficients, UV/VIS spectra, and other properties of reactive halogen species. Biogeochemical controls on iodide formation and loss in the ocean to improve the current parameterizations for iodine emission.

- Field experiments and satellite studies: Measurements of inorganic (X, XO, HOX, XONO2, ..., X = Cl, Br, I) and organic (CH3Br, CHBr3, CH3I, RX, ...) reactive halogen species and their fluxes in the troposphere with in situ and remote sensing techniques.

- Measurements and model studies of the abundance of (reactive) halogen species in volcanic plumes and transformation processes and mechanisms.

- All aspects of tropical tropospheric halogens and links to (O)VOCs: their chemistry, sources and sinks, and their impact on local, regional, and global scales.

Convener: Alfonso Saiz-Lopez | Co-conveners: Nicole Bobrowski, Ulrich Platt, Rolf Sander, Tomás Sherwen
| Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room 0.60
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X5

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room 0.60

Chairperson: Alfonso Saiz-Lopez
14:00–14:15 |
Lucy Carpenter, Rosie Chance, Liselotte Tinel, Tomas Sherwen, David Loades, Ryan Pound, Mat Evans, Claire Hughes, Helmke Heppach, Stephen Ball, Thomas Adams, Lloyd Hollis, Martin Wadley, David Stevens, Tim Jickells, Michel Legrand, Joe McConnell, Anoop Mahajan, and Amit Sakar
14:15–14:30 |
Markus Ammann, Pablo Corral Arroyo, and Peter Alpert
14:45–15:00 |
Jan-Marcus Nasse, Udo Frieß, Denis Pöhler, Stefan Schmitt, Holger Sihler, Rolf Weller, Thomas Schaefer, Zsófia Jurányi, Helene Hoffmann, and Ulrich Platt
15:00–15:15 |
Kerri Pratt, Stephen McNamara, Angela Raso, Siyuan Wang, Sham Thanekar, Eric Boone, Katheryn Kolesar, Peter Peterson, William Simpson, Jose Fuentes, and Paul Shepson
15:15–15:30 |
Matti Rissanen, Clémence Rose, Siddharth Iyer, Xucheng He, Yee Jun Tham, Janne Lampilahti, Daniela Wimmer, Jean-Marc Metzger, Olivier Magand, Theodore K. Koenig, Henning Finkenzeller, Aurélie Colomb, Karine Sellegri, Bert Verreyken, Crist Amelynck, Trissevgeni Stavrakou, Niels Schoon, Pierre Tulet, Jean-Pierre Cammas, Rainer Volkamer, and Jérôme Brioude
15:30–15:45 |
Theodore K. Koenig, Pedro Campuzano Jost, Benjamin A. Nault, Jose L. Jimenez, Alfonso Saiz-Lopez, and Rainer Volkamer