Earthquakes that occur within regions of slow lithospheric deformation (low-strain regions) are inherently difficult to study. The long interval between earthquakes, coupled with natural and anthropogenic modification, limit preservation of paleoearthquakes in the landscape. Low deformation rates push the limits of modern geodetic observation techniques. The short instrumental record challenges extrapolation of small earthquake recurrence based on modern seismological measurement to characterize the probability of larger, more damaging earthquakes. Characterizing the earthquake cycle in low-strain settings is further compounded by temporal clustering of earthquakes, punctuated by long periods of quiescence (e.g. non-steady recurrence intervals). However, earthquakes in slowly deforming regions can reach high magnitudes and pose significant risk to populations.

This session seeks to integrate paleoseismic, geomorphic, geodetic, geophysical, and seismologic datasets to provide a comprehensive understanding of the earthquake cycle in low-strain regions. This session will draw upon recent advances in high-resolution topography, geochronology, satellite geodesy techniques, subsurface imaging techniques, longer seismological records, high-density geophysical networks and unprecedented computational power to explore the driving mechanisms for earthquakes in low-strain settings. We welcome contributions that (1) present new observations that place constraints on earthquake occurrence in low-strain regions, (2) explore patterns of stable or temporally varying earthquake recurrence, and (3) provide insight into the mechanisms that control earthquakes in regions of slow deformation via observation and/or modeling.

Co-organized as NH4.18/SM2.10
Convener: Ryan Gold | Co-conveners: Pierre Arroucau, Sierd Cloetingh, Susana Custódio, Gordana Vlahovic
| Thu, 11 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room K2
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X2

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room K2

Chairperson: Pierre Arroucau
16:15–16:30 |
| solicited
Katrina Kremer, Remo Grolimund, Gabriela Gassner-Stamm, Stefanie B. Wirth, Michael Strasser, and Donat Fäh
16:30–16:45 |
Laurent Bollinger, Yann Klinger, Steven L. Forman, Odonbaatar Chimed, Amgalan Bayasgalan, Ulziibat Munkhuu, Ganzorig Davaasuren, Tulga Dolgosuren, Bayarsaikhan Enkhee, and Demberel Sodnomsambuu
17:00–17:15 |
Christelle Guilbaud, Martine Simoes, Laurie Barrier, Jérôme Van Der Woerd, Haibing Li, and Jiawei Pan
17:15–17:30 |
Yogendra Singh, Biju John, and Sivakumar Cherukuri
17:30–17:45 |
Ana Mladenovic, Vladica Cvetkovic, Ivan Dulic, and Snezana Marjanovic
17:45–18:00 |
Artem Krylov, Aline Plotz, Wolfram Geissler, Boris Baranov, Sergey Shibaev, Frank Krueger, Christian Haberland, and Nikolay Tsukanov