The last decade has seen rapid growth in the number of online data sets, tools, and research infrastructures many of which are coordinated by separate communities in the Earth, space, and environmental sciences. Notable efforts include GEO, EPOS, ENVRI, ESGF, ESIP, CUHASI, AuScope, EDI, EarthCube, OneGeology, ODIP, IGSN, DataOne and many more. In Europe, many of these activities are now connected to upcoming European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) initiative.
There are common technological, policy, and science challenges that each is trying solve, often in isolation. Although standards, vocabularies, formats, etc are cohesive within each community, there are sufficient differences that make it hard to integrate data across them and beyond to other disciplines. Similar barriers exists from different policies regarding licenses, access, citation and publishing practices. The time is ripe to synchronise efforts to create globally connected networks of Earth, Space and Environmental Science data, information systems, software and researchers to create a ‘cloud’ of networked infrastructures.
Papers are solicited from those building community specific systems or from those trying to resolve the challenges of internationally linking multiple communities to create networked environments for developing common global solutions for more efficient and effective use of limited, available funding.

Co-sponsored by AGU
Convener: Lesley Wyborn | Co-convener: Ari Asmi
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room 0.94
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X1

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room 0.94

Chairperson: Lesley Wyborn
08:30–08:45 |
Erin Robinson
08:45–09:00 |
Massimo Cocco, Daniele Bailo, Rossana Paciello, Carmela Freda, Keith Jeffery, and Kuvvet Atakan
09:00–09:15 |
Andreas Petzold and Helen Glaves
09:15–09:30 |
Enrico Boldrini, Paolo Mazzetti, Stefano Nativi, Mattia Santoro, Fabrizio Papeschi, Roberto Roncella, Massimiliano Olivieri, Fabio Bordini, and Silvano Pecora
09:30–09:45 |
Simon L. G. Jutz and Alessandra Tassa
09:45–10:00 |
Laura Beranzoli, Mairi Best, Francisco Javier Bonet García, Philippe Ciais, Tina Dohna, Ulpu Leijala, Nadia Lo Bue, Henry Loescher, Diarmuid O'Conchubhair, María Suárez Muñoz, Valentina Tegas, Anders Tjulin, and Ari Asmi
10:00–10:15 |
Siri Jodha Khalsa, Luis Lopez, and Allen Pope
Coffee break
Chairperson: Lesley Wyborn
11:00–11:15 |
Tim Rawling, Erin Robinson, Matthew Harrison, Francois Robida, Helen Glaves, Ben Evans, and Andrew Treloar
11:15–11:30 |
Gyami Shrestha, Zhiliang Zhu, Nancy Cavallaro, James Butler, Elisabeth Larson, and Kathy Tedesco
11:30–11:45 |
Bente Bye, Marie-Francoise Voidrot, Bart De Lathouwer, Nuno Catarino, Pedro Goncalves, Michelle Cortes, Nuno Grosso, Julian Meyer-Arnek, and Bram Janssen
11:45–12:00 |
Mickael Beaufils, Boyan Brodaric, Eric Boisvert, Matthew Harrison, David Blodgett, Carina Kemp, and Sylvain Grellet
12:00–12:15 |
Andrea Naß, Kristine Asch, Stephan van Gasselt, Jay Laura, Trent Hare, Jim Skinner, Angelo Pio Rossi, Sebastien Besse, Stéphane Erard, Thomas Roatsch, and Ralf Jaumann
12:15–12:30 |
Christopher Atherton, Peter Löwe, and Léonie Schäfer