Digital data, software and samples are key inputs that underpin research and ultimately scholarly publications, and there are increasing expectations from policy makers and funders that they will be Open and FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable). Open, accessible, high-quality data, software and samples are critical to ensure the integrity of published research and to facilitate reuse of these inputs in future scientific efforts.

Currently, most research inputs have limited accessibility and persistence. Many journals accept data and software as part of supplementary information with little documentation; some journals accept contacting the author for access with few successful requests; and many samples underpinning key research papers are inaccessible and not well described. Given the diverse requirements of the Solid Earth and Environmental community, most repositories struggle to make artifacts of research and communications Open and FAIR.

An inclusive, integrated approach to Open and FAIR is now required from data/sample/software repositories, whilst publishers and funders need to provide consistent policies, standards and guidelines: the research community could also better share tools and techniques. This session solicits papers from repositories, publishers, funders, researchers, policy makers and anyone who is trying to establish components of an integrated, Open and FAIR research ecosystem.

Convener: Florian Haslinger | Co-conveners: Ari Asmi, Helen Glaves, Shelley Stall, Lesley Wyborn
| Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30, 14:00–15:45
Room 0.96
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X1

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room 0.96

Chairperson: Lesley Wyborn
Where and Why - Strategic Developments
10:45–11:00 |
Patrick Bell, Chris Card, Matthew Harrison, Jon Stuteley, Phil Atkinson, Daniele Bailo, Valerio Vinciarelli, Riccardo Rabissoni, and Rossana Paciello
11:15–11:30 |
Kerstin Lehnert, Jens Klump, Lesley Wyborn, and Sarah Ramdeen
Lunch break
Chairperson: Florian Haslinger
What and How - Community Initiatives
14:00–14:15 |
Kerstin Lehnert, Timothy Ahern, and Danie Kinkade
14:15–14:30 |
Philipp S. Sommer, Basil A. S. Davis, and Manuel Chevalier
14:30–14:45 |
Alex Vermeulen, Margareta Hellström, Maria Johnsson, Frank Toussaint, Stephan Kindermann, Dan Lear, Robert Huber, Markus Stocker, Ingemar Häggström, Carl-Fredrik Enell, and Zhiming Zhao
14:45–15:00 |
Anusuriya Devaraju, Uwe Schindler, Tina Dohna, Robert huber, Michael Diepenbroek, and Ketil Koop-Jakobsen
15:00–15:15 |
Carina Kemp, Guido Aben, Alex Ip, and Ingrid Mason
15:15–15:30 |
Jerry Carter, Chad Trabant, Tim Ahern, Mick Van Fossen, Rob Casey, Nick Falco, and Adam Clark
15:30–15:45 |
Martina Stockhause and Michael Lautenschlager