Dissolution, precipitation and chemical reactions between infiltrating fluid and rock matrix alter the composition and structure of the rock, either creating or destroying flow paths. Strong, nonlinear couplings between the chemical reactions at mineral surfaces and fluid motion in the pores often leads to the formation of intricate patterns: networks of caves and sinkholes in karst area, wormholes induced by the acidization of petroleum wells, porous channels created during the ascent of magma through peridotite rocks. Dissolution and precipitation processes are also relevant in many industrial applications: dissolution of carbonate rocks by CO2-saturated water can reduce the efficiency of CO2 sequestration, mineral scaling reduces the effectiveness of heat extraction from thermal reservoirs, acid rain degrades carbonate-stone monuments and building materials.

With the advent of modern experimental techniques, these processes can now be studied at the microscale, with a direct visualization of the evolving pore geometry. On the other hand, the increase of computational power and algorithmic improvements now make it possible to simulate laboratory-scale flows while still resolving the flow and transport processes at the pore-scale.

We invite contributions that seek a deeper understanding of reactive flow processes through interdisciplinary work combining experiments or field observations with theoretical or computational modeling. We seek submissions covering a wide range of spatial and temporal scales: from table-top experiments and pore-scale numerical models to the hydrological and geomorphological modelling at the field scale. We also invite contributions from related fields, including the processes involving coupling of the flow with phase transitions (evaporation, sublimation, melting and solidification).

Convener: Piotr Szymczak | Co-conveners: Sylvain Courrech du Pont, Linda Luquot
| Thu, 11 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room 2.15
| Attendance Thu, 11 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall A

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room 2.15

16:15–16:30 |
Peter Knabner, Nadja Ray, Jens Oberlander, and Peter Folkovic
16:30–16:45 |
Emily Tran, Nadya Teutsch, Ofra Klein-BenDavid, Annie Kersting, Mavrik Zavarin, and Noam Weisbrod
16:45–17:00 |
Max Cooper, Silvana Magni, Filip Dutka, Florian Osselin, Piotr Garstecki, Anthony Ladd, and Piotr Szymczak
17:00–17:15 |
Leander Michels, Yves Méheust, Mario Altoé, Everton dos Santos, Henrik Hemmen, Roosevelt Droppa, Jon Fossum, and Geraldo da Silva
17:15–17:30 |
Michael Berhanu, Adrien Guérin, Julien Derr, and Sylvain Courrech du Pont
17:30–17:45 |
Phuong Thanh Vu, Chuen-Fa Ni, Wei-Ci Li, and Viet Anh Tran
17:45–18:00 |
Maria Pool, Elena Abarca, Carlos Ayora, and Marco Dentz