CR1.1 Media

Mountain glaciers and ice caps are major contributors to sea-level rise and have large impacts on water balance of local basins. This is a general session on glaciers and ice caps where the relationship to climate forms a particular focus. The IPCC AR5 of Working Group 1 covers Earths Glaciers and Ice Caps outside the ice sheets under the heading of Glaciers and shows that, despite much progress recently provided by the community, we are still left with substantial unknowns. We need to acquire more data, both from new fieldwork and release of unpublished data from prior years on mass changes of glaciers and ice caps from all regions of the world. We need to improve the understanding of the processes behind the changes, and we need to improve the application of models of different complexity. We welcome presentations on all aspects of mass changes; current, past and future changes based on field observations, remote sensing and modeling. Studies of physical processes controlling accumulation and ablation including calving and submarine melting, are especially welcome.

Co-organized as CL3.07
Convener: Jon Ove Hagen | Co-conveners: Nicholas Barrand, Matthias Huss, Georg Kaser
| Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room 1.85
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X4

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room 1.85

Chairperson: Matthias Huss and Georg Kaser
14:00–14:15 |
Brian Menounos, Romain Hugonnet, David Shean, Alex Gardner, Ian Howat, Etienne Berthier, Ben Pelto, Christina Tennant, Joseph Shea, Myoung-Jong Noh, Fanny Brun, and Amaury Dehecq
14:15–14:30 |
Stanislav Kutuzov, Ivan Lavrentiev, Andrey Smirnov, Gennady Nosenko, and Dmitry Petrakov
14:30–14:45 |
Gabriele Schwaizer, Johanna Nemec, Thomas Nagler, and Helmut Rott
15:00–15:15 |
Valentina Radic, Mekdes Tessema, Andrew Bush, Brian Menounos, and Noel Fitzpatrick
15:15–15:30 |
Harry Zekollari, Matthias Huss, and Daniel Farinotti
15:30–15:45 |
| presentation
Charalampos Charalampidis, Andrea Fischer, Michael Kuhn, Astrid Lambrecht, Christoph Mayer, Konstantinos Thomaidis, and Markus Weber
Coffee break
Chairperson: Nick Barrand and Jon Ove Hagen
16:15–16:30 |
Inés Dussaillant, Etienne Berthier, Fanny Brun, Mariano Masiokas, Romain Hugonnet, Vincent Favier, Antoine Rabatel, Pierre Pitte, and Lucas Ruiz
16:30–16:45 |
Jacqueline Huber, Robert McNabb, and Michael Zemp
16:45–17:00 |
Jakob Abermann, Jakob Steiner, and Rainer Prinz
17:00–17:15 |
Snævarr Guðmundsson, Helgi Björnsson, Finnur Pálsson, Þorsteinn Sæmundsson, and Tómas Jóhannesson
17:15–17:30 |
| Highlight
Daniel Farinotti, Matthias Huss, Johannes J. Fürst, Johannes Landmann, Horst Machguth, Fabien Maussion, and Ankur Pandit
17:30–17:45 |
Jānis Karušs, Kristaps Lamsters, Māris Krievāns, Anatolii Chernov, and Jurijs Ješkins
17:45–18:00 |
Christian Vincent, Adrien Gilbert, Luc Piard, Bruno Jourdain, Patrick Ginot, Vladimir Mikhalenko, Philippe Possenti, and Delphine Six