This session will focus on recent and upcoming advances in satellite remote sensing of the global cryosphere. We welcome presentations providing new insights into cryospheric processes in the broadest sense, ranging from ice sheets, glaciers, snow cover and snow properties, frozen soil and sea ice to extraterrestrial glaciology. While the advent of remote sensing has revolutionized the field of glaciology, a vast reservoir of potential remains to be unlocked by using these observations in concert with other data sets. We particularly encourage presentations discussing multi-platform data merging, integration of GIS and ground validation data, integration of remote sensing data into earth system models, as well as cloud computing and processing of super large data sets. We also encourage contributions focusing on historic satellite data re-analysis, novel processing approaches for upcoming satellite missions, and presentations outlining pathways to next-generation satellite missions for the coming decades.
We are committed to a well-balanced session.

Convener: Sophie Berger | Co-conveners: Stef Lhermitte, Wolfgang Rack, Bert Wouters, Rachel Tilling, Masahiro Hori, Knut Stamnes
| Thu, 11 Apr, 10:45–12:30, 14:00–18:00
Room N2
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall X4

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room N2

Chairperson: Knut Stamnes
Snow Optical Remote Sensing
10:45–11:00 |
Thomas Nagler, Chris Derksen, Gabriele Schwaizer, Richard Essery, David Gustafsson, Gerhard Krinner, Kari Luojus, Carlo Marin, Sari Metsaemaeki, Lawrence Mudryk, Kathrin Naegeli, Claudia Notarnicola, Arnt-Borre Salberg, Rune Solberg, Andreas Wiesmann, Stefan Wunderle, and Anna-Maria Trofaier
11:00–11:15 |
Quentin Libois, Félix Lévesque-Desrosiers, Simon Lambert-Girard, Florent Dominé, and Simon Thibault
11:15–11:30 |
Jean-Pierre Dedieu, Charlene Negrello, Hans-Werner Jacobi, Foteini Baladima, Yannick Duguay, Eric Bernard, Julia Boike, Jean-Charles Gallet, Sebastian Westermann, and Anna Wendleder
11:30–11:45 |
Christine Pohl, Larysa Istomina, Vladimir Rozanov, Evelyn Jäkel, Georg Heygster, and Gunnar Spreen
11:45–12:00 |
Polina Mikhaylyukova, Olga Tutubalina, Dmitry Petrakov, Mikhail Zimin, and Ryskul Usubaliev
12:00–12:30 |
| Highlight
| presentation
Marie Dumont
Ice Sheets and Glaciers
Lunch break
Chairperson: Sophie Berger
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
| Highlight
Kelly Brunt, Thomas Neumann, and Nathan Kurtz
14:15–14:30 |
Thomas Neumann, Thorsten Markus, Lori Magruder, and Nathan Kurtz and the ICESat-2 Science Team
14:30–14:45 |
Malcolm McMillan, Alan Muir, Andrew Shepherd, Roger Escolà, Mònica Roca, Jérémie Aublanc, Pierre Thibaut, Marco Restano, Américo Ambrozio, and Jérôme Benveniste
14:45–15:00 |
Philipp Malz, Christian Sommer, Thorsten Seehaus, David Farias-Barahona, and Matthias Braun
15:00–15:15 |
Anne M. Solgaard, Nanna B. Karlsson, Sebastian B. Simonsen, Aslak Grinsted, Ruth Mottram, and Louise S. Sørensen
15:15–15:30 |
| presentation
Daniel Cheng, Eric Larour, and Wayne Hayes
15:30–15:45 |
Celia A. Baumhoer, Andreas J. Dietz, and Claudia Kuenzer
Coffee break
Chairperson: Stef Lhermitte
16:15–16:30 |
| presentation
Fraser King and Christopher Fletcher
16:30–16:45 |
Quentin Glaude, Sophie Berger, Charles Amory, Frank Pattyn, Christian Barbier, and Anne Orban
sea ice
17:00–17:15 |
| solicited
Robert Ricker, Stefan Hendricks, Xiangshan Tian-Kunze, Lars Kaleschke, and Antonio de la Fuente
17:15–17:30 |
Fabian Reiser, Sascha Willmes, and Günther Heinemann
17:30–17:45 |
Marcus Huntemann and Gunnar Spreen
17:45–18:00 |
Marjan Marbouti, Dyre Oliver Dammann, Leif E.B. Eriksson, Oleg Antropov, and Anders Berg