The nature of science has changed: it has become more interconnected, collaborative, multidisciplinary, and data intensive. Accordingly, the main aim of this session is to create a common space for interdisciplinary scientific discussion, where EGU-GA delegates involved in geoscientific networks can share ideas and present the research activities carried out in their networks. The session represents an invaluable opportunity for different networks and their members to identify possible synergies and establish new collaborations, find novel links between disciplines, and design innovative research approaches.

Part of the session will be focused on COST (European Cooperation in Science and Technology) Actions*. The first edition of the session (successfully held in 2018) was actually entirely dedicated to the COST networking programme and hosted scientific contributions stemming from 25 Actions, covering different areas of the geosciences (sky, earth and subsurface monitoring, terrestrial life and ecosystems, earth's changing climate and natural hazards, sustainable management of resources and urban development, environmental contaminants, and big data management). Inspiring and fruitful discussions took place; the session was very well attended. We are looking forward to continuing the dialogue this year and to receiving new contributions from COST Action Members.

Another part of the session will be dedicated to the activities of other national and international scientific networks, associations, as well teams of scientists who are carrying out collaborative research projects.

Finally, the session is of course open to everyone! Accordingly, abstracts authored by scientists not involved in wide scientific networks are most welcome, too! In fact, in 2018 we received a good number of such abstracts, submitted by individual scientists or small research teams who wished to disseminate the results of their studies in front of the multidisciplinary audience that characterizes this session, as an alternative to making a presentation in a thematic session. This may be a productive way to broaden the perspective and find new partners for future interdisciplinary research ventures. We hope to receive this kind of abstracts this year, as well.

-- Notes --

* COST (www.cost.eu) is a EU-funded programme that enables researchers to set up their interdisciplinary research networks (the “Actions”), in Europe and beyond. COST provides funds for organising conferences, workshops, meetings, training schools, short scientific exchanges and other networking activities in a wide range of scientific topics. Academia, industry, public- and private-sector laboratories work together in Actions, sharing knowledge, leveraging diversity, and pulling resources. Every Action has a main objective, defined goals and clear deliverables. This session was started as a follow up initiative of COST Action TU1208 “Civil engineering applications of Ground Penetrating Radar” (2013-2017, www.GPRadar.eu).

Co-organized as AS4.13/BG1.33/CL4.42/GD1.7/GM12.7/GMPV7.16/NH11.15/NP9.4/SM1.10/SSP1.7/SSS13.20/ST4.9
Convener: Lara Pajewski | Co-conveners: Simona Fontul, Aleksandar Ristic
| Mon, 08 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Room 2.44
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X1

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room 2.44

Chairperson: Lara Pajewski & Aleksandar Ristic
COST Actions
16:15–16:30 |
Carmen Cuenca-Garcia, Kayt Armstrong, Elina Aidona, Philippe De Smedt, Anne Roseveare, Martin Roseveare, Petra Schneidhofer, Clare Wilson, Jörg Faßbinder, Ian Moffat, Apostolos Sarris, Marion Scheiblecker, Abir Jrad, Martijn van Leusen, and Kelsey Lowe and the SAGA's MC
16:30–16:45 |
Raffaele Persico, Lourdes Farrugia, and Emily Porter
16:45–17:00 |
Alessandro Fedeli, Lara Pajewski, Aleksandar Ristic, Mercedes Solla Carracelas, and Milan Vrtunski
17:00–17:15 |
Miro Govedarica, Aleksandar Ristic, Xavier Derobert, Lara Pajewski, Milan Vrtunski, and Zeljko Bugarinovic
Horizon 2020 and Interreg Europe projects
17:15–17:30 |
Vasco Mantas, Elsa Baltazar, Alcides J.S.C. Pereira, and Jorge Canhoto
17:30–17:45 |
Marian Munteanu, Stefan Sädbom, Jouko Malinen, Janne Paaso, Ronald Arvidsson, Nikolaos Arvanitidis, Lotta Sartz, and Mattias Bäckström