Ice shelves and tidewater glaciers are sensitive elements of the climate system. Sandwiched between atmosphere and ocean, they are vulnerable to changes in either. The recent disintegration of ice shelves such as Larsen B and Wilkins on the Antarctic Peninsula, current thinning of the ice shelves in the Amundsen Sea sector of West Antarctica, and the recent accelerations of many of Greenland's tidewater glaciers provide evidence of the rapidity with which those systems can respond. Changes in marine-terminating outlets appear to be intimately linked with acceleration and thinning of the ice sheets inland of the grounding line, with immediate consequences for global sea level. Studies of the dynamics and structure of the ice sheets' marine termini and their interactions with atmosphere and ocean are the key to improving our understanding of their response to climate forcing and of their buttressing role for ice streams. The main themes of this session are the dynamics of ice shelves and tidewater glaciers and their interaction with the ocean, atmosphere and the inland ice, including grounding line dynamics. The session includes studies on related processes such as calving, ice fracture, rifting and mass balance, as well as theoretical descriptions of mechanical and thermodynamic processes. We seek contributions both from numerical modelling of ice shelves and tidewater glaciers, including their oceanic and atmospheric environments, and from observational studies of those systems, including glaciological and oceanographic field measurements, as well as remote sensing and laboratory studies.

Co-organized as OS1.20
Convener: Adrian Jenkins | Co-conveners: Angelika Humbert, Nicolas Jourdain, Andreas Vieli, Inga Monika Koszalka
| Wed, 10 Apr, 10:45–12:30, 14:00–18:00
Room N2
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room N2

10:45–11:00 |
Philipp Hochreuther, Niklas Neckel, Jenny Turton, Nathalie Reimann, and Matthias Braun
11:00–11:15 |
Ben Davison, Andrew Sole, Tom Cowton, James Lea, and Dominik Fahrner
11:15–11:30 |
Eef van Dongen, Andrea Walter, Guillaume Jouvet, Martin Funk, Joe Todd, Jan Åström, and Thomas Zwinger
11:30–11:45 |
Charlie Bunce, Peter Nienow, Andrew Sole, Tom Cowton, Ben Davison, and Noel Gourmelen
11:45–12:00 |
Samuel Cook, Poul Christoffersen, Joe Todd, Donald Slater, and Nolwenn Chauché
12:00–12:15 |
Peter Washam, Andreas Münchow, Keith W. Nicholls, and Laurie Padman
12:15–12:30 |
Ala Khazendar, Ian Fenty, Dustin Carroll, Alex Gardner, Craig Lee, Ichiro Fukumori, Ou Wang, Hong Zhang, Helene Seroussi, Delwyn Moller, Price Noël, Michiel van den Broeke, Steven Dinardo, and Josh Willis
Lunch break
14:00–14:15 |
Tasha Snow, Fiammetta Straneo, Ted Scambos, James Holte, and Waleed Abdalati
14:15–14:30 |
Pauline Bonnet, Vladislav Yastrebov, Anne Mangeney, Olivier Castelnau, Patrick Queutey, Alban Leroyer, Amandine Sergeant, Eleonore Stutzmann, and Jean-Paul Montagner
14:30–14:45 |
Denis Felikson, Sophie Nowicki, and Isabel Nias
14:45–15:00 |
Bradley Lipovsky
15:00–15:15 |
Doug Benn, Jan Åström, Thomas Zwinger, Joe Todd, and Anna Crawford
15:15–15:30 |
Bertie Miles, Chris Stokes, Stewart Jamieson, Jim Jordan, Hilmar Gudmundsson, and Adrian Jenkins
15:30–15:45 |
Stef Lhermitte, Sainan Sun, Christopher Shuman, Bert Wouters, Frank Pattyn, Jan Wuite, Etienne Berthier, and Thomas Nagler
Coffee break
16:15–16:30 |
Amber Leeson, Elliott Foster, Amiee Rice, Noel Gourmelen, and Melchior van Wessem
16:30–16:45 |
Jeremy Ely, Peter Tuckett, Andrew Sole, Stephen Livingstone, Benjamin Davison, Jan Melchior van Wessem, and Joshua Howard
16:45–17:00 |
Surface hydrology of an East Antarctic Outlet Glacier
Christian Schoof, Bernd Kulessa, Sarah Thompson, Sue Cook, Eleri Evans, Glenn Jones, Ian Joughin, Christopher Watson, Alex Fraser, Israel Olmos, Ghislain Picard, Ben Galton-Fenzi, and Leo Peters
17:00–17:15 |
Peter Davis and Keith Nicholls
17:15–17:30 |
Britney Schmidt, Justin Lawrence, Matthew Meister, Daniel Dichek, Charles Ramey, Anthony Spears, Andrew Mullen, Benjamin Hurwitz, Frances Bryson, and Tiegan Hobbs
17:30–17:45 |
Sebastian Rosier and Hilmar Gudmundsson
17:45–18:00 |
Matthew Hoffman, Xylar Asay-Davis, Jeremy Fyke, Mauro Perego, and Stephen Price