The pacing of the global climate system by orbital variations is clearly demonstrated in the timing of e.g. glacial-interglacial cycles. The mechanisms that translate this forcing into geoarchives and climate changes continue to be debated. We invite submissions that explore the climate system response to orbital forcing, and that test the stability of these relationships under different climate regimes or across evolving climate states (e.g. mid Pleistocene transition, Pliocene-Pleistocene transition, Miocene vs Pliocene, and also older climate transitions). Submissions exploring proxy data and/or modelling work are welcomed, as this session aims to bring together proxy-based, theoretical and/or modelling studies focused on global and regional climate responses to astronomical forcing at different time scales in the Phanerozoic.
Anna-Joy Drury will give an invited presentation about 'Fingerprinting the climate heartbeat of the late Miocene'.

Co-organized as SSP2.12
Convener: Christian Zeeden | Co-conveners: Anne-Christine Da Silva, Stefanie Kaboth-Bahr, Matthias Sinnesael, Nicolas Thibault
| Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–18:00
Room F2
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X5

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room F2

Chairperson: Christian Zeeden, Anne-Christine Da Silva
15:00–15:15 |
| solicited
| Highlight
Anna Joy Drury, Thomas Westerhold, David Hodell, Heiko Pälike, Fiona Rochholz, Diederik Liebrand, Ze Tao, Paul Minton, Bridget Wade, and Roy Wilkens
15:15–15:30 |
Claude Hillaire-Marcel, Anne de Vernal, Yanguang Liu, Jenny Maccali, Karl Purcell, Bassam Ghaleb, Allison Jacobel, Rüdiger Stein, Jerry McManus, and Michel Crucifix
15:30–15:45 |
Sun-Seon Lee and Axel Timmermann
Coffee break
Chairperson: Matthias Sinnesael, Nicolas Thibault
16:30–16:45 |
Jianjun Zou, Xuefa Shi, and Sergey Gorbarenko
16:45–17:00 |
Ji-Eun Kim, Axel Timmermann, Sun-Seon Lee, and Tobias Friedrich
17:00–17:15 |
Yating Lin, Gilles Ramstein, Haibin Wu, Raj Rani, Pascale Braconnot, Masa Kageyama, Qin Li, Yunli Luo, and Zhengtang Guo
17:45–18:00 |
Sébastien Wouters, Anne-Christine Da Silva, Michel Crucifix, Matthias Sinnesael, Miroslav Zivanovic, Frédéric Boulvain, and Xavier Devleeschouwer