Accurate and homogeneous long-term data records (i.e., data that are forced to look like a common reference) are essential for researching, monitoring, or attenuating changes in climate, for example to describe the state of climate or to detect climate extremes. Likewise, reanalysis needs accurate and homogenized/harmonized data records (i.e., data records in which the unique nature of each sensor is maintained). Temporal changes, such as degradation of instruments, changes of instruments, changes of observation practices, or changes of station location and exposure, cause artificial non-climatic sudden or gradual changes in data records. The magnitude and uncertainty of these changes impact the results of climate trend analyses. Therefore, data intended for applications, such as making a realistic and reliable assessment of historical climate trends and variability, require to be homogenized or harmonized consistently so as to obtain well calibrated data records including measurement uncertainties.

The above described factors influence the quality of different essential climate variables, including atmospheric (e.g., air temperature, precipitation, wind speed), oceanic (e.g., sea surface temperature), and terrestrial (e.g., albedo, snow cover) variables from in-situ observing networks, satellite observing systems, and climate/earth-system model simulations. Our session calls for contributions related to the:

• Calibration, quality control, homogenization/harmonisation and validation of either fundamental or essential climate data records.

• Development of new data records and their analysis (spatial and temporal characteristics, particularly of extremes).

• Examination of observed trends and variability, as well as studies that explore the applicability of techniques/algorithms to data of different temporal resolutions (annual, seasonal, monthly, daily, and sub-daily).

• Rescue and analysis of centennial meteorological observations, with focus on data prior to the 1960s, as a unique source to fill in the gap of knowledge of climate variability over century time-scales. In particular, we encourage wind studies dealing with the observed slowdown (termed “stilling”) of near-surface winds in the last 30-50 years.

Convener: Cesar Azorin-Molina | Co-conveners: Enric Aguilar, Rob Roebeling, Xiaolan Wang
| Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15, 10:45–12:30, 14:00–15:45
Room 0.14
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X5

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room 0.14

Chairperson: Cesar Azorin-Molina
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
| presentation
Joaquin Muñoz-Sabater, Rob Allan, Bill Bell, Iskander Benhadj, Paul Berrisford, Dick Dee, Rossana Dragani, Hans Hersbach, Rainer Hollman, Richard Kidd, Jean François Legeais, Thomas Popp, Pascal Prunet, Dinand Schepers, Jörg Schultz, Cornel Soci, Paul van der Linden, Gerard van der Schrier, and Jean-Noël Thépaut
08:45–09:00 |
Conor Murphy, Robert Wilby, Tom Matthews, Peter Thorne, Ciaran Broderick, Rowan Fealy, Julia Hall, Shaun Harrigan, Philip Jones, Gerard McCarthy, Neil Macdonald, Simon Noone, and Ciara Ryan
09:00–09:15 |
Gangfeng Zhang, Cesar Azorin-Molina, Peijun Shi, Deliang Chen, Tim R. McVicar, and Jose A. Guijarro
09:15–09:30 |
Moritz Buchmann, Christoph Marty, and Michael Begert
09:30–09:45 |
Fernando Jaume Santero, Leopoldo Carro Calvo, Ricardo García Herrera, David Barriopedro Cepero, and Sancho Salcedo Sanz
09:45–10:00 |
Dhais Peña-Angulo, Jose Carlos González-Hidalgo, Miquele Brunetti, Santiago Begueria, Miquele Tomas-Bueguera, Marcos Rodrigues, and Mónica Aguilar
10:00–10:15 |
Michael Blaschek and Leopold Haimberger
Coffee break
Chairperson: Enric Aguilar
10:45–11:00 |
| solicited
| presentation
Fabio Madonna, Monica Proto, Marco Rosoldi, Emanuele Tramutola, Alessandro di Filippo, Souleymane Sy, Alessandro Fassò, Tom Gardiner, and Peter Thorne
11:00–11:15 |
Erik Engström, Javier Sigró, and Mary Curley
11:15–11:30 |
Elizabeth Lewis, Selma Guerreiro, Stephen Blenkinsop, and Hayley J Fowler
11:30–11:45 |
José A. Guijarro, Enric Aguilar, Peter Domonkos, Javier Sigró, Petr Štěpánek, Victor Venema, and Pavel Zahradníček
11:45–12:00 |
Yizhak Yosef, Enric Aguilar, and Pinhas Alpert
12:00–12:15 |
Christophe Sturm, Erik Engström, and Semjon Schimanke
12:15–12:30 |
Eren Düzenli, Hossein Tabari, Patrick Willems, and Mustafa Tuğrul Yılmaz
Lunch break
Chairperson: Rob Roebeling
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
Hans Hersbach, Bill Bell, Paul Berrisford, Gionata Biavati, Dick Dee, András Horányi, Julien Nicolas, Carole Peubey, Raluca Radu, Iryna Rozum, Joaquín Muñoz-Sabater, Dinand Schepers, Adrian Simmons, Cornel Soci, Jean-Noël Thépaut, and Freja Vamborg
14:15–14:30 |
Hans Gleisner, Kent B. Lauritsen, Johannes K. Nielsen, and Stig Syndergaard
14:30–14:45 |
Imke Hans, Theresa Lang, Stefan Buehler, Martin Burgdorf, and Marc Prange
14:45–15:00 |
Ralf Giering, Ralf Quast, Samuel Hunt, Peter Harris, Jonathan Mittaz, and Emma Woolliams
15:00–15:15 |
Sofia L. Ermida, Isabel F. Trigo, Carlos C. DaCamara, Carlos Jimenez, and Catherine Prigent
15:15–15:30 |
Marie Doutriaux-Boucher, Roger Huckle, Alessio Lattanzio, Jörg Schulz, and Oliver Sus
15:30–15:45 |
Annarosa Quarello, Olivier Bock, and Emilie Lebarbier