Ecosystems, their abiotic and biotic compartments as well as their internal processes and interactions can be interpreted as the result of numerous evolutionary steps during system development. Understanding ecosystem development can be regarded, therefore, as crucial for understanding ecosystem functioning. This session will highlight research in this field within two parts.

The first part of this session is dedicated to experimental approaches to disentangle these complex processes and interactions of the Critical Zone. Well-known flagship sites in this sense are, e.g., Biosphere2 in the USA or Hydrohill in China. In addition, post-mining landscapes worldwide offer multiple opportunities for establishing artificial experimental sites for various purposes. Many experimental sites are based on hydrological catchments as integrative landscape units. Other large-scale experiments focus on selected parts of ecosystems which were modified or transplanted. This part of the session tries to create a global overview on large-scale landscape experiments on ecohydrological, pedological, biogeochemical or ecological processes within the Critical Zone.

The second part is related to the co-evolution of spatial patterns of vegetation, soils and landforms. These patterns are recognized as sources of valuable information that can be used to infer the state and function of ecosystems. Complex interactions and feedbacks between climate, soils and biotic factors are involved in the development of landform-soil-vegetation patterns, and play an important role on the stability of landscapes. In addition, large shifts in the organization of vegetation and soils are associated with land degradation, frequently involving large changes in the functioning of landscapes. This part of the session will focus on ecogeomorphological and ecohydrological aspects of landscapes, conservation of soil resources, and the restoration of ecosystem functions.

Invited talks will be given by Dr. Abad Chabbi (Director of Research at the French National Institute for Agricultural Research, INRA) on “Challenges, insights and perspectives associated with combining observation and experimentation research infrastructure“. Part two of the session is proud to announce the invited talk of Prof. Praveen Kumar (Lovell Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Illinois, USA, Director of the US NSF Critical Zone Observatory for Intensively Managed Landscapes) on "Co-evolution of landscape and carbon profile through depth: understanding the interplay between transport and biochemical dynamics".

Co-organized as BG1.60/GI4.14/GM5.11/HS11.4
Convener: Werner Gerwin | Co-conveners: Mariano Moreno de las Heras, Laura Meredith, Jin Lin, Patricia Saco, Jantiene Baartman, Jose Rodriguez
| Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30, 14:00–15:45, 16:15–18:00
Room G1
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Hall X1

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room G1

Chairperson: Lin Jin & Werner Gerwin
Large-scale experimental sites - concepts and implementation (Chair: Lin Jin & Werner Gerwin)
10:45–11:00 |
| solicited
| Highlight
Abad Chabbi
11:00–11:15 |
Martin Bartuška, Jiří Leitgeb, and Jan Frouz
11:15–11:30 |
Wolfgang Schaaf, Werner Gerwin, and Reinhard F. Hüttl
11:30–11:45 |
Annika Badorreck, Wolfgang Schaaf, Werner Gerwin, Davood Moghadas, and Reinhard Hüttl
11:45–12:00 |
Aimin Liao, Weizu Gu, Jiufu Liu, Jianyun Zhang, Jin Lin, and Niu Wang
12:00–12:15 |
Jan Bliefernicht, Sina Berger, Seyni Salack, Samuel Guug, Aymar Yaovi Bossa, Boubacar Barry, Aaron Aduna, Matthias Mauder, Rainer Steinbrecher, Dominikus Heinzeller, Yacouba Yira, Bernd Diekkrüger, Moussa Waongo, Emmanuel Quansah, Ahmed Balogun, Ralf Kunkel, Antonio Rogmann, Cornelia Klein, Ursula Gessner, and Harald Kunstmann and the WASCAL field observatory team
12:15–12:30 |
Shayli Dor Haim and Moshe Shachak
Lunch break
Chairperson: Mariano Moreno & Patricia Saco
Co-evolution of spatial patterns of vegetation, soils and landforms (Chair: Mariano Moreno & Patricia Saco)
14:15–14:30 |
Catchment Form and function relationships revealed by long-term research in a semiarid mountain catchment
James McNamara
15:15–15:30 |
Jana Eichel, Stefan Winkler, David William Hedding, Daniel Draebing, and Teja Kattenborn
15:30–15:45 |
Nikul Kumari, Omer Yetemen, Samuel A Johnstone, Ankur Srivastava, Jose F Rodriguez, and Patricia Saco
Coffee break
Chairperson: Laura Meredith & Wolfgang Schaaf
16:30–16:45 |
Ivan Strelkov, Mikhail Amosov, Kirill Chistyakov, Yuriy Kurochkin, Gregory Tyusov, and Ilya Volkov
Development of artificially created experimental ecosystems (Chair: Laura Meredith & Wolfgang Schaaf)
16:45–17:00 |
Alejandro Cueva, Till H. M. Volkmann, Joost van Haren, Peter A. Troch, and Laura K. Meredith
17:15–17:30 |
Simon Landhäusser, Sean Carey, Kevin Devito, Frances Leishman, Maxwell Lukenbach, Carl Mendoza, and Morgane Merlin
17:30–17:45 |
Kelly Biagi, Matthew Graham Clark, Elyn Humphreys, Carl Mendoza, and Sean K Carey
17:45–18:00 |
Kevin Devito, Mika Little- Devito, Carl Mendoza, Laura Chasmer, and Nicholas Kettridge