Ecosystems, particularly soils, are a globally important reservoir for organic carbon (OC) and contribute significantly to CO2 emissions. Soil organic matter is further vital for soil fertility and sustainable agriculture, and has the potential to increase and safeguard agricultural yields against climate change. Reducing losses of organic carbon (OC) from soils and restoring or even further enhancing soil OC stocks therefore offers a strategy to combine the benefits of climate change mitigation with improved soil quality. Nevertheless there are still a range of frontier areas of research on soil OC that have to be tackled to understand and manage the potential of soils to sequester additional or maintain carbon. These include for example soil carbon saturation, carbon stability in subsoils, carbon input quality, soil structure and management practices, as well as ways to verify changes in soil carbon stocks. Also, there is still large uncertainty on the time scales at which carbon stays in soils and other ecosystem compartments, with flux based and modelling approaches often suggesting faster OC turnover than radiocarbon based approaches.
We invite presentations addressing these or other areas of pioneering research on SOM sequestration and temporal dynamics using experimental, synthesis, or modelling approaches.

Convener: Marion Schrumpf | Co-conveners: Steven Banwart, Caroline Peacock, Carlos Sierra
| Mon, 08 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room G1
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X1

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room G1

Chairperson: Carlos Sierra
08:30–08:45 |
Jennifer W Harden, Ben Sulman, Gustaf Hugelius, Julie Loisel, Olga Vinduskova, Avni Malhotra, Katerina Georgiou, Anders Ahlstrom, and Robert B. Jackson
09:00–09:15 |
Susan Trumbore, Alison Hoyt, Corey Lawrence, Grey Monroe, Kate Heckman, Carlos Sierra, Joseph Blankenship, Jeff Beem-Miller, Shane Stoner, and Gavin McNichol
09:15–09:30 |
Alison Hoyt, Jeffrey Beem-Miller, Carlos Sierra, Shane Stoner, Bernhard Ahrens, Qing Zhu, William Riley, Corey Lawrence, Grey Monroe, and Susan Trumbore
09:30–09:45 |
Marcus Schiedung, Craig S. Tregurtha, Michael H. Beare, Steve M Thomas, and Axel Don
09:45–10:00 |
John Livsey, Thomas Kätterer, Giulia Vico, Steve Lyon, Regina Lindborg, Anna Scaini, and Stefano Manzoni
10:00–10:15 |
Andrew Bray, John Kim, Marion Schrumpf, Caroline Peacock, and Steven Banwart
Coffee break
Chairperson: Steven Banwart
10:45–11:00 |
Cristina Arias-Navarro, Pete Smith, and Jean-Francois Soussana
11:00–11:15 |
Gerrit Angst, Kevin E. Mueller, David M. Eissenstat, Susan Trumbore, Katherine H. Freeman, Sarah E. Hobbie, Jon Chorover, Jacek Oleksyn, Peter B. Reich, and Carsten W. Mueller
11:15–11:30 |
Karin Eusterhues, Jürgen Thieme, Sneha Narvekar, Tohru Araki, Majid Kazemian, Burkhard Kaulich, Tim Mansfeldt, and Kai Uwe Totsche
11:30–11:45 |
Katerina Georgiou, Wenting Feng, Jennifer W. Harden, William J. Riley, Robert B. Jackson, and Margaret S. Torn
11:45–12:00 |
Wenfang Xu, Philippe Ciais, Bertrand Guenet, Nicolas Viovy, and Jinfeng Chang
12:00–12:15 |
Marijn Van de Broek, Marion Schrumpf, Bernhard Ahrens, Gerard Govers, and Johan Six
12:15–12:30 |
Pierre Barré, Lauric Cécillon, François Baudin, Laure Soucémarianadin, Eva Kanari, and Claire Chenu