Changes in seasonal timing affect species and ecosystem response to environmental change. Observations of plant and animal phenology as well as remote sensing and modeling studies document complex interactions and raise many open questions.

We invite contributions with cross-disciplinary perspectives that address seasonality changes based on recent plant and animal phenological observations, pollen monitoring, historical documentary sources, or seasonality measurements using climate data, remote sensing, flux measurements or modeling studies. Contributions across all spatial and temporal scales are welcome that compare and integrate seasonality changes, study effects of long-term climate change or single extreme events, emphasize applications and phenology informed decision-making, discuss species interactions and decoupling, advance our understanding of how seasonality change affects carbon budgets and atmosphere/biosphere feedbacks, and integrate phenology into Earth System Models.

We emphasize phenology informed applications for decision-making and environmental assessment, public health, agriculture and forest management, mechanistic understanding of the phenological processes, and effects of changing phenology on biomass production and carbon budgets. We also welcome contributions addressing international collaboration and program-building initiatives including citizen science networks and data analyses.

Co-organized as AS4.29/BG1.42, co-sponsored by PEP725 and ISB-PC
Convener: Iñaki Garcia de Cortazar-Atauri | Co-conveners: Ellen Denny, Marie Keatley, Christina Koppe, Helfried Scheifinger
| Wed, 10 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room 0.49
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X5

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room 0.49

Chairperson: Benedicte Wenden
08:30–08:45 |
Maria Vorkauf, Ansgar Kahmen, and Erika Hiltbrunner
08:45–09:00 |
Constantin Zohner, Lidong Mo, and Thomas Crowther
09:00–09:15 |
Richard Nair, Yunpeng Luo, Martin Hertel, Martin Strube, Markus Reichstein, Marion Schrumpf, and Mirco Migliavacca
09:15–09:30 |
Enrico Tomelleri, Albin Hammerle, and Georg Wohlfahrt
09:30–09:45 |
Sara Minoli, Jonas Jägermeyr, and Christoph Müller
09:45–10:00 |
Simon Rouet, Jean-Louis Durand, Didier Combes, Abraham Escobar Gutiérrez, and Romain Barillot
10:00–10:15 |
Patrícia Morellato and Desirée M. Ramos
Coffee break
Chairperson: Yann Vitasse
10:45–11:00 |
| Highlight
Eike Luedeling, Erica Fadon, Eduardo Fernandez, Katja Schiffers, Carsten Urbach, and Cory Whitney
11:00–11:15 |
Bénédicte Wenden, Mahendra Mariadassou, Frank-M Chmielewski, and Yann Vitasse
11:15–11:30 |
Frederik Baumgarten, Constantin Zohner, and Yann Vitasse
11:45–12:00 |
Raul Zurita-Milla, Romulo Goncalvez, and Emma Izquierdo-Verdiguier
12:00–12:15 |
Stefan Härer, Tobias Ottenheym, Alissa Lüpke, and Annette Menzel
12:15–12:30 |
| presentation
Valentin Journé, Cathleen Petit, Sylvie Oddou-Muratorio, and Hendrik Davi