The Arctic Realm is changing rapidly and the fate of the cryosphere, including Arctic sea ice, glaciers and ice caps, is a source of concern. Whereas sea ice variations impact the radiative energy budget, thus playing a role in Arctic amplification, the Greenland Ice Sheet (GIS) retreat contributes to global sea level rise. Moreover, through various processes linking the atmosphere, ice and ocean, the change in the Arctic realm may modify the atmospheric and ocean circulation at regional to global scales, the freshwater budget of the ocean and deep-water formation as well as the marine and terrestrial ecosystems. The processes and feedbacks involved operate on all time scales and thus require several types of information: satellite and instrumental data, climate models, and reconstructions based on geological archives. In this session, we invite contributions from a range of disciplines and across time scales, including observational data, historical data, proxy data, model simulations and forecasts, for the past climate and the future. The common denominator of these studies will be their focus on a better understanding of mechanisms and feedbacks on short to long time scales that drive Arctic and Arctic-subarctic changes and their impact on climate, ocean and environmental conditions, at regional to global scales, including possible links to weather and climate outside the Arctic.

Co-organized as OS1.28/SSP2.20, co-sponsored by ArcTrain
Convener: Anne de Vernal | Co-conveners: Michal Kucera, Christof Pearce, Didier Roche, Marit-Solveig Seidenkrantz, Antoon Kuijpers, Richard Bintanja, Rune Grand Graversen
| Wed, 10 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room F2
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X5

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room F2

Chairperson: A. de Vernal & R. Bintanja
08:30–08:45 |
| Highlight
Michelle McCrystall and James Screen
08:45–09:00 |
| presentation
Evelien Dekker, Richard Bintanja, and Camiel Severijns
09:00–09:15 |
Ivana Cvijanovic, Benjamin Santer, Donald Lucas, Celine Bonfils, John Chiang, Xavier Levine, and Pablo Ortega
09:30–09:45 |
Svenya Chripko, Rym Msadek, Emilia Sanchez-Gomez, and Laurent Terray
09:45–10:00 |
Johanne H. Rydsaa, Rune G. Graversen, and Zoé Rey
10:00–10:15 |
Myriel Horn, Benjamin Rabe, Ursula Schauer, and Claudia Wekerle
Coffee break
Chairperson: M.-S. Seidenkrantz & M. Kucera
10:45–11:00 |
Maryam Zarrinderakht
11:00–11:15 |
Margit H. Simon, Francesco Muschitiello, Amandine A. Tisserand, Are Olsen, Matthias Moros, Kerstin Perner, Trond M. Dokken, and Eystein Jansen
11:15–11:30 |
Sophie Stolzenberger, Claudia Wekerle, Roelof Rietbroek, Bernd Uebbing, and Jürgen Kusche
11:30–11:45 |
Marjolaine Sabine, Frédérique Eynaud, Sébastien Zaragosi, Jacques Giraudeau, Elodie Marches, Jimmy Daynac, Alexie Cogné, Linda Rossignol, and Thierry Garlan
12:00–12:15 |
Lina Madaj, Friedrich Lucassen, Claude Hillaire-Marcel, Jens Weiser, and Simone Kasemann
12:15–12:30 |
| Highlight
Robert F. Spielhagen, Leonid Polyak, and Andreas Mackensen