Wave-particle interactions represent a unique mechanism of an energy transfer in the nearly collisionless plasma environment of the Earth's inner magnetosphere, affecting ultimately distribution functions of energetic particles trapped in the Van Allen radiation belts. Their evaluation, along with the quantification of the resulting particle acceleration, transport, and loss, is thus crucial for understanding the dynamics of the radiation belts. Considering that these processes are mainly driven by the solar wind, the ability to accurately forecast the radiation belts is further dependent on understanding their coupling with external regions (e.g. solar wind, foreshock, magnetosheath), and the processes that dictate their global dynamics. The aim of this session is the dynamics of energetic particle populations in the radiation belts, wave-particle interactions in the Earth's inner magnetosphere, as well as generation mechanisms and properties of involved electromagnetic emissions (EMIC, chorus, hiss, fast magnetosonic waves, etc.) in various frequency ranges (ULF, ELF, VLF). Theoretical and model contributions, as well as observational studies using data from recent satellite missions (ERG-Arase, Cluster, MMS, THEMIS, Van Allen Probes, etc.) and ground-based instruments are encouraged.

Convener: Frantisek Nemec | Co-conveners: Richard Boynton, Fabien Darrouzet, Andrew Dimmock, Elena Kronberg
| Thu, 11 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room L8
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X4

Thursday, 11 April 2019 | Room L8

Chairperson: Kronberg, Boynton
Wave-particle interactions
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
| Highlight
Satoshi Kasahara, Yoshizumi Miyoshi, Shoichiro Yokota, Takefumi Mitani, Yoshiya Kasahara, Shoya Matsuda, Atsushi Kumamoto, Ayako Matsuoka, Yoichi Kazama, Harald Frey, Vassilis Angelopoulos, Satoshi Kurita, Kunihiro Keika, Kanako Seki, and Iku Shinohara
08:45–09:00 |
Xiao-Jia Zhang, Richard Thorne, Anton Artemyev, Didier Mourenas, Dmitrii Vainchtein, Vassilis Angelopoulos, and Jacob Bortnik
09:00–09:15 |
Aaron Hendry, Ondrej Santolik, Craig Kletzing, Craig Rodger, Kazuo Shiokawa, and Dimitri Baishev
09:15–09:30 |
John Ross, Nigel Meredith, Sarah Glauert, Richard Horne, and Mark Clilverd
09:30–09:45 |
Hilde Nesse Tyssøy, Linn-Kristine Glesnes Ødegaard, Johan Stadsnes, Marit Sandanger, Finn Søraas, and Kristian Snekvik
Radiation belt modeling
09:45–10:00 |
Oliver Allanson, Clare Watt, Heather Ratcliffe, Nigel Meredith, and Teo Bloch
Coffee break
Chairperson: Nemec, Dimmock
10:45–11:00 |
Ian Mann, Louis Ozeke, Kyle Murphy, Leonid Olifer, Alexander Degeling, Seth Claudepierre, and Harlan Spence
11:00–11:15 |
Hayley Allison, Richard Horne, Sarah Glauert, and Giulio Del Zanna
Magnetospheric plasma waves
11:15–11:30 |
Sarah Bentley, Clare E. J. Watt, I. Jonathan Rae, Mathew J. Owens, Kyle Murphy, Michael Lockwood, and Jasmine K. Sandhu
11:30–11:45 |
MMS Observations of Magnetospheric Field Line Resonances
Guan Le, Peter Chi, Robert Strangeway, Christopher Russell, James Slavin, Brian Anderson, Rumi Nakamura, Ferdinand Plaschke, and Roy Torbert
11:45–12:00 |
Benjamin Grison, Ondrej Santolik, Nicole Cornilleau-Wehrlin, and Christopher Carr
12:00–12:15 |
Homayon Aryan, Michael Balikhin, and Simon Walker
12:15–12:30 |
Jyrki Manninen, Claudia Martinez-Calderon, Yoshiya Kasahara, Shoya Matsuda, and Tauno Turunen