Planetary Space Weather: fundamental plasma interactions in space environments

The emphasis of the session is on crucial processes of planetary space weather, that is, plasma physics and interactions of the interplanetary medium with the Solar System bodies, including:
(a) magnetosphere-ionosphere coupling dynamics and auroras: from the Earth to other planets
(b) the solar wind interaction with planets, moons, asteroids and comets
(c) plasma interactions with exospheres, dust and surfaces
(d) surface space weathering
(e) potential impact of planetary environment on technological space systems
(f) inter-comparisons of planetary environments

Contributions are welcome which address previous (e.g. Chandrayaan-1, KAGUYA, Venus Express, MESSENGER, Rosetta, Cassini), present (e.g. Juno,
Mars Express, MAVEN, CHANG'E 2), forthcoming (e.g. BepiColombo, Parker Solar Probe) and planned (e.g. JUICE, Solar Orbiter) observations from space. Analyses of ground-based observations of neutral and ionized environments are welcome, as well as laboratory studies aiming to simulate the interactions on planetary analogues in space. Theoretical modeling and simulations are also strongly encouraged, both in themselves and as a basis for inter-comparisons and interpretation of measurements. Regarding that major breakthroughs on terrestrial space weather have been made with measurements from THEMIS, Cluster, AMPERE, MMS and Van Allen Probes, we very welcome the relevant topics at the Earth too, as comparative study has proven to be a powerful tool in understanding planetary space weather.

Convener: Zhonghua Yao | Co-conveners: Philippe Garnier, Valeria Mangano
| Tue, 09 Apr, 08:30–10:15, 10:45–12:30
Room 1.61
| Attendance Wed, 10 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X4

Tuesday, 9 April 2019 | Room 1.61

Chairperson: Zhonghua Yao, Valeria Mangano
08:30–08:45 |
Paul Stefan Szabo, Herbert Biber, David Weichselbaum, Matthias Brenner, Reinhard Stadlmayr, Daniel Mayer, Andreas Mutzke, Andreas Nenning, Michael Doppler, Markus Sauer, André Galli, Jürgen Fleig, Annette Foelske-Schmitz, Helmut Lammer, Klaus Mezger, Peter Wurz, and Friedrich Aumayr
08:45–09:00 |
| Highlight
Jiaying Xu, xiaojun Xu, jing Wang, qing Chang, and qi Xu
09:00–09:15 |
Fei He, Zhonghua Yao, Yong Wei, and Weixing Wan
09:15–09:30 |
| solicited
Christina O. Lee, Bruce Jakosky, Janet G. Luhmann, David A. Brain, M. Leila Mays, Don Hassler, Mats Holmstrom, Davin Larson, Dave L. Mitchell, Christian Mazelle, and Jasper Halekas and the following contributors: P. Chamberlin (CU Boulder/LASP), S. Curry (SSL/UCB), J. Deighan (CU Boulder/LASP), P. Dunn (SSL/UCB), B. Ehresmann (SwRI), M. Elrod (NASA), F. Eparvier (CU Boulder/LASP), J. Espley (NASA/GSFC), J. Guo (Kiel Univ.), J. Gruesbeck (NA
09:30–09:45 |
Charles Lue and Hans Nilsson
09:45–10:00 |
Andrey Fedorov, Nicolas Andre, Ronan Modolo, Riku Jarvinen, and Stas Barabash
10:00–10:15 |
Christian Mazelle, Karim Meziane, Abdelhaq Hamza, Norberto Romanelli, Philippe Garnier, David L. Mitchell, Ali Rahmati, Jasper S. Halekas, Jared R. Espley, Emmanuel Penou, and Bruce Jakosky
Coffee break
Chairperson: Valeria Mangano, Zhonghua Yao
10:45–11:00 |
Stavro L. Ivanovski, Anna Milillo, Monio Kartalev, Stefano Massetti, Stefano Orsini, Valeria Mangano, Alessandro Mura, Roberto Sordini, Elisabetta De Angelis, Rosana Rispoli, Francesco Lazzarotto, Adrian Kazakov, and Alessandro Aronica
11:00–11:15 |
| solicited
Zhaojin Rong
11:15–11:30 |
Réka Winslow, Noé Lugaz, Charles Farrugia, Catherine Johnson, Brian Anderson, Carol Paty, Nathan Schwadron, Lydia Philpott, and Manar Al Asad
11:30–11:45 |
Xianzhe Jia, James Slavin, Gangkai Poh, Gina DiBraccio, Gabor Toth, Yuxi Chen, Jim Raines, and Tamas Gombosi
11:45–12:00 |
Alexander Bader, Sarah V. Badman, Stanley W. H. Cowley, Zhonghua Yao, Licia C. Ray, Joe Kinrade, Emma J. Bunce, Thomas J. Bradley, Chihiro Tao, Greg J. Hunt, and Wayne R. Pryor
12:00–12:15 |
| solicited
Dominique Delcourt
12:15–12:30 |
Pengfei Qin, Yasong Ge, and Aimin Du