Anthropogenic disturbance of the nitrogen (N) cycle has more than doubled the amount of reactive N circulating in the biosphere. Exchange of nitrogen gases between land and atmosphere are strongly affecting Earth’s atmospheric composition, air quality, climate change and human health. This session seeks to improve our understanding on how global changes impact N biogeochemistry in terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems and what atmospheric interactions will be most important in influencing the climate. We seek to link microbiological nitrogen processes and surface nitrogen gases flux with ecosystem dynamics, air quality and atmospheric chemistry. We will cover fluxes of various nitrogen gases and the underlying transformation processes in soils and sediments, e.g., fixing of atmospheric dinitrogen, release of nitrous acid (HONO), nitric oxide (NO), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), nitrous oxide (N2O) and ammonia (NH3) as well as interactions with ozone, volatile organic compounds, free radicals as well as aerosols in the atmosphere, and further impact on air quality. Further, the interactions of N cycling with other element cycles (e.g., carbon, phosphorus) in ecosystems and terrestrial-aquatic linkages, and feedbacks to biodiversity loss and water pollution will be explored. We welcome a wide range of studies including methods development and application of new devices, observational, experimental, and modeling approaches.

Convener: Dianming Wu | Co-conveners: Tuula Larmola, Ming Chang, Yuepeng Pan, Sari Juutinen, Sami Ullah
| Mon, 08 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room 2.25
| Attendance Mon, 08 Apr, 16:15–18:00
Hall A

Monday, 8 April 2019 | Room 2.25

Chairperson: 16140
08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
Jeffrey Collett, Katherine Benedict, Evie Bangs, Yi Li, Anthony Prenni, and Bret Schichtel
Chairperson: 16140
08:45–09:00 |
Shelley van der Graaf, Martijn Schaap, and Jan Willem Erisman
Chairperson: 16140
Chairperson: 16140
09:15–09:30 |
| Highlight
Matthew Ascott, Daren Gooddy, and Ben Surridge
Chairperson: 16140
09:30–09:45 |
Josephine McSherry, L. Jared West, Simon Bottrell, Hannah Threadgould, Andrea Lancaster, and Sharon Thomas
Chairperson: 16140
09:45–10:00 |
Lijun Hou, Min Liu, Dengzhou Gao, Dianming Wu, Ping Han, Yanling Zheng, and Guoyu Yin
Chairperson: 16140
10:00–10:15 |
| Highlight
Feng Mao, Stefan Krause, Sami Ullah, Steven Gorelick, and David Hannah
Coffee break
Chairperson: 16141
10:45–11:00 |
Corrado Biondo, Alessio Collalti, and Dario Papale
Chairperson: 16141
11:00–11:15 |
Kathrin Rousk
Chairperson: 16141
11:15–11:30 |
Sylwia Adamczyk, Raija Laiho, Heikki Kiheri, Netty van Dijk, Nancy Dice, and Tuula Larmola
Chairperson: 16141
11:30–11:45 |
Haoming Yu, Yunting Fang, and Ronghua Kang
Chairperson: 16141
11:45–12:00 |
Tiina Törmänen, Antti-Jussi Lindroos, Veikko Kitunen, Juha Heikkinen, and Aino Smolander
Chairperson: 16141
12:00–12:15 |
Yunting Fang, Chenxia Su, Zhi Quan, Weixing Zhu, and Yi Shi
Chairperson: 16141
12:15–12:30 |
Katja Rinne-Garmston (Rinne), Krista Peltoniemi, Janet Chen, Mikko Peltoniemi, Hannu Fritze, and Raisa Mäkipää