The terrestrial vegetation carbon balance is controlled not just by photosynthesis, but by respiration, carbon allocation, turnover (comprising litterfall, background mortality and disturbances) and wider vegetation dynamics. However, these processes have proved extremely challenging to observe and quantify at large scales and over long time periods. Existing large-scale empirical products of vegetation carbon fluxes and stocks have large uncertainties and/or data gaps. Furthermore, the observed changes in vegetation properties are often the result of a number of interacting processes and can be driven by changes in CO2, climate, natural disturbances or human activities. Thus, our current understanding of the environmental controls on vegetation dynamics and properties, and in turn their impact on carbon stocks in biomass and soils, is limited and the behaviour of large-scale vegetation models remains underconstrained. This gives rise to high uncertainty as to whether terrestrial vegetation will continue to act as a carbon sink under future environmental changes, or whether increases in autotrophic respiration or carbon turnover, e.g. through accelerated background tree mortality or by more frequent and more severe disturbance events (e.g. drought, fire, insect epidemics), will counteract this negative feedback to climate change. We welcome contributions that make use of observational approaches, vegetation models, or model-data integration techniques to advance understanding of the effects of environmental change on vegetation dynamics and carbon stocks and fluxes at local, regional or global scales and/or at long time scales.
Keynote: Prof Shaun Quegan, University of Sheffield.

Convener: Thomas Pugh | Co-conveners: Gitta Lasslop, Matthias Forkel, Martin Thurner, Kailiang Yu, Yunpeng Luo, Catarina Moura, Rene Orth
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–10:15
Room 2.31
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall A

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room 2.31

08:30–08:45 |
| solicited
Shaun Quegan
08:45–09:00 |
Guido Ceccherini, Giovanni Forzieri, Guido Lemoine, Valerio Avitabile, Gregory Duveiller, and Alessandro Cescatti
09:00–09:15 |
Efrén López-Blanco, Jean-François Exbrayat, Magnus Lund, Torben R. Christensen, Mikkel P. Tamstorf, Darren Slevin, Gustaf Hugelius, Anthony A. Bloom, and Mathew Williams
09:15–09:30 |
Markus Drüke, Matthias Forkel, Werner von Bloh, Boris Sakschewski, Manoel Cardoso, Mercedes Bustamante, and Kirsten Thonicke
09:30–09:45 |
Lan Wang-Erlandsson, Ruud J. van der Ent, Patrick W. Keys, Ingo Fetzer, Makoto Taniguchi, and Line J. Gordon
09:45–10:00 |
Yueyang Jiang, John Kim, Christopher Still, Frederick Meinzer, and Xiangtao Xu
10:00–10:15 |
Michael O'Sullivan, Pierre Friedlingstein, Stephen Sitch, Almut Arneth, Vivek Arora, Daniel Goll, Vanessa Haverd, Atul Jain, Etsushi Kato, Sebastian Lienert, Danica Lombardozzi, Julia Nabel, Benjamin Poulter, Eddy Robertson, Matthias Rocher, Hanqin Tian, Nicolas Vuichard, Anthony Walker, Andy Wiltshire, and Sonke Zaehle