We invite, in particular multidisciplinary, contributions which focus on the structure and evolution of the continental crust and upper mantle and on the nature of mantle discontinuities. The latter include, but are not limited to, the mid-lithosphere discontinuity (MLD), the lithosphere-asthenosphere boundary (LAB), and the mantle transition zone, as imaged by various seismological techniques and interpreted within interdisciplinary approaches. Papers with focus on the structure of the crust and the nature of the Moho are also welcome. Methodologically, the contributions will include studies based on seismic, thermal, gravity, petrological, and/or electro-magnetic data interpretations.
Confirmed invited speaker: Arwen Deuss on Upper Mantle Doscontinuities

Co-organized as SM4.16
Convener: Alexey Shulgin | Co-conveners: Hans Thybo, Lev Vinnik
| Wed, 10 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Room -2.32
| Attendance Tue, 09 Apr, 10:45–12:30
Hall X2

Wednesday, 10 April 2019 | Room -2.32

Chairperson: Alexey Shulgin, Hans Thybo, Lev Vinnik
14:00–14:15 |
| solicited
Arwen Deuss, Sanne Cottaar, Jennifer Jenkins, and Annemijn van Stiphout
14:15–14:30 |
Revised geodynamic and seismological implications of mantle transition zone phase transitions
Kenni Dinesen Petersen, Thorsten Nagel, and Christian Schiffer
14:30–14:45 |
Benoit Tauzin, Lauren Waszek, Nickolas C. Schmerr, Maxim Ballmer, and Juan Carlos Afonso
14:45–15:00 |
| Highlight
Sergei Lebedev, Nicolas Luca Celli, Andrew J. Schaeffer, Bernhard Steinberger, and Thomas Meier
15:15–15:30 |
Alexandra Mauerberger, Hamzeh Sadeghisorkhani, Frederik Tilmann, Olafur Gudmundsson, and Valerie Maupin
15:30–15:45 |
Bing Xia, Irina Artemieva, and Hans Thybo