Rockfalls, rockslides and rock avalanches are fundamental modes of erosion on steep hillslopes, and among the primary hazards in steep alpine terrain. To better understand the processes driving rock slope degradation, mechanisms contributing to the triggering, transport, and deposition of resulting rock slope instabilities, and mitigation measures for associated hazards, we must develop insight into both the physics of intact and rock mass failure and the dynamics of transport processes. This session aims to bring together state-of-the-art methods for predicting, assessing, quantifying, and protecting against rock slope hazards. We seek innovative contributions from investigators dealing with all stages of rock slope hazards, from weathering and/or damage accumulation, through detachment, transport and deposition, and finally to the development of protection and mitigation measures. In particular, we seek studies presenting new theoretical, numerical or probabilistic modelling approaches, novel data sets derived from laboratory, in situ, or remote sensing applications, and state-of-the-art approaches to social, structural, or natural protection measures.

Co-organized as GM7.6
Convener: Axel Volkwein | Co-conveners: Andreas Ewald, Anne Voigtländer, Michael Krautblatter
| Fri, 12 Apr, 08:30–12:30
Room M2
| Attendance Fri, 12 Apr, 14:00–15:45
Hall X3

Friday, 12 April 2019 | Room M2

08:30–08:45 |
Andrin Caviezel, Sophia E. Demmel, Adrian Ringenbach, Bühler Yves, Guang Lu, Marc Christen, Claire E. Dinneen, Lucie A. Eberhard, Daniel von Rickenbach, and Perry Bartelt
08:45–09:00 |
François Noël, Emmanuel Wyser, Michel Jaboyedoff, Clément Hibert, Miloud Talib, Jean-Philippe Malet, Renaud Toussaint, Mathilde Desrues, Franck Bourrier, David Toe, Ombeline Brenguier, Teresa Gracchi, Marc-Henri Derron, Catherine Cloutier, and Jacques Locat
09:00–09:15 |
Jacques Locat, François Noël, Thierry Oppikofer, Clément Michoud, Sébastien Lévy, and Michel Jaboyedoff
09:15–09:30 |
Margherita Cecilia Spreafico, Federico Agliardi, and David Amitrano
09:30–09:45 |
Daniel Draebing and Michael Krautblatter
Coffee break
10:45–11:00 |
| solicited
| Highlight
| presentation
John J Clague
11:00–11:15 |
Lene Kristensen, Gudrun Majala, and Lars Harald Blikra
11:15–11:30 |
| Highlight
Johannes Leinauer, Benedikt Friedrich, Benjamin Jacobs, and Michael Krautblatter
11:30–11:45 |
Louise M. Vick, Valerie Zimmer, Christopher White, Chris I. Massey, and Tim Davies
11:45–12:00 |
Franziska Glüer, Simon Loew, Andrea Manconi, and Jordan Aaron
12:00–12:15 |
Samuel Weber, Jan Beutel, Stephan Gruber, Andreas Hasler, and Andreas Vieli
12:15–12:30 |
Nina Marlovits, Thomas Glade, Martin Mergili, and Alexander Preh